Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management by Jeffrey W. HerrmannIIE/Joint Publishers Book of the Year Award 2016! <br /><br />Awarded for an outstanding published book that focuses on a facet of industrial engineering, improves education, or furthers the profession . <br /><br />Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management emphasizes practical issues and examples of decision making with applications in engineering design and management<br /><br />Featuring a blend of theoretical and analytical aspects, this book presents multiple perspectives on decision making to better understand and improve risk management processes and decision-making systems.<br /><br />Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management uniquely presents and discusses three perspectives on decision making: problem solving, the decision-making process, and decision-making systems. The author highlights formal techniques for group decision making and game theory and includes numerical examples to compare and contrast different quantitative techniques. The importance of initially selecting the most appropriate decision-making process is emphasized through practical examples and applications that illustrate a variety of useful processes. Presenting an approach for modeling and improving decision-making systems, Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management also features:<br /><br /> Theoretically sound and practical tools for decision making under uncertainty, multi-criteria decision making, group decision making, the value of information, and risk management Practical examples from both historical and current events that illustrate both good and bad decision making and risk management processes End-of-chapter exercises for readers to apply specific learning objectives and practice relevant skills A supplementary website with instructional support material, including worked solutions to the exercises, lesson plans, in-class activities, slides, and spreadsheets <br />An excellent textbook for upper-undergraduate and graduate students, Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management is appropriate for courses on decision analysis, decision making, and risk management within the fields of engineering design, operations research, business and management science, and industrial and systems engineering. The book is also an ideal reference for academics and practitioners in business and management science, operations research, engineering design, systems engineering, applied mathematics, and statistics.
Publication Date: 2015-04-06
Essentials of Engineering Leadership and Innovation by Pamela McCauley-Bush; Lesia L. Crumpton-YoungThis book is a must-have resource for those engineering professionals seeking out best practice in engineering leadership and innovation. It is underpinned by years of applied experience in engineering settings, and is designed to develop and prepare engineers as leaders to accept the technical and managerial challenges that they will face as professionals At a time when engineering and innovation in technology is of importance on so many fronts, this text encourages engineers and technical professionals to become effective, socially conscious leaders and innovators. The text and course material is designed to create an environment of interactive, high-engagement learning that will produce lifelong skills. Some of the many benefits of this book include: Accompanying notes, instructor's manual, sample syllabi for qualifying textbook adoption; A complementary website with a wealth of ancillary resources; Case studies in STEM contexts; An international approach, underpinned by years of experience in US settings; Practical advice on how to distinguish yourself as an engineering leader; A solid grounding in ethics and professional responsibility. Drawing together best practice in engineering leadership education, and current research in the field, this book is an essential read for those wishing to develop expertise in engineering leadership. Current professionals in the field, educators as well as students of engineering wishing to excel, will all be particularly interested readers.
Publication Date: 2012-03-15
Management for Engineers, Scientists and Technologists by John V. Chelsom; Andrew C. Payne; Lawrence R. P. ReavillSignificantly revised and updated, this second edition of Management for Engineers, Scientists and Technologists is vital reading for all students of any of these subjects hoping to make it in the real world. Increasingly, students of engineering, science and technology subjects are finding that their success depends as much on general management skills and understanding operational systems, as on their technical expertise. This book offers students that all important, firm foundation in management training. Management for Engineers, Scientists and Technologists offers a practical and accessible introduction to management and provides a comprehensive guide to the management tools used in managing people and other resources. Part 1 includes a series of chapters on management applications and concepts, starting with basic issues such as What is a business? and What is management?′ continuing through management of quality, materials and new product development and concluding with examples of successful companies who provide good models of management. Part 2 starts with chapters on human resource management, and communication, and goes on to provide some tools and techniques, such as critical path networks, discounted cash flow, inventory control, concluding with a new chapter on the management of SMEs. The authors significant experience in both teaching and industry provides valuable lessons in business management, and allows them to give real life, insightful case studies.
Publication Date: 2004-10-29
Ethics, Politics, and Whistleblowing in Engineering by Rania Milleron (Editor); Nicholas Sakellariou (Editor)The aim of this book is to generate a strong operational ethic in the work of engineers from all disciplines. It provides numerous examples of engineers who sought to meet the highest ethical standards, risking both professional and personal retaliations. In short, it presents the fields of engineering ethics in the context of actual conflict situations on the job, and points to an urgent need for a strong ethical framework for the profession. This book is about engineering students and practitioners truly understanding, valuing, and championing their wider critical role. Ralph Nader, the consumer advocate and champion of engineers, wrote the preface.
Publication Date: 2018-10-25
A Textbook on Professional Ethics and Human Values by R. S. NaagarazanThis book is the fruition of four decades of teaching Mechanical Engineering subjects including Quality Engineering, Total Quality Management, and Principles of Management for the Bachelor and Master degree courses in Engineering at Annamalai University, and then in Arunai Engineering College, Tiruvannamalai, by the author. Frank and continual feed back from the distinguished students and esteemed colleagues of the author obtained during teaching, enthused him in shaping this book into a valuable present to the scholars pursuing engineering.This book amply covers the updated syllabus of Professional Ethics by Anna University. Besides the basic human values, Codes of ethics of major Indian professional societies, detailed risk analysis with illustrative examples are included. Further, twenty four crisp case studies covering a wide spectrum of topics in Professional Ethics, short-answer questions, long-answer questions with hints have been appended to sustain the interest of the engineering students. Besides the prescribed syllabus, ethics-related topics such as Social Acceptability SA 8000, Safety System OHSAS 18001 and Engineer-Manager interactions have also been explained. The student community as well as the teaching fraternity is certain to enjoy using this book, not only from the teaching-learning point of view, but also for their professional career and advancement.
Engineering Ethics by Gail D. BauraEngineering Ethics is the application of philosophical and moral systems to the proper judgment and behavior by engineers in conducting their work, including the products and systems they design and the consulting services they provide. In light of the work environment that inspired the new Sarbanes/Oxley federal legislation on "whistle-blowing" protections, a clear understanding of Engineering Ethics is needed like never before. Beginning with a concise overview of various approaches to engineering ethics, the real heart of the book will be some 13 detailed case studies, delving into the history behind each one, the official outcome and the "real story" behind what happened. Using a consistent format and organization for each one--giving background, historical summary, news media effects, outcome and interpretation--these case histories will be used to clearly illustrate the ethics issues at play and what should or should not have been done by the engineers, scientists and managers involved in each instance. Covers importance and practical benefits of systematic ethical behavior in any engineering work environment Only book to explain implications of the Sarbanes/Oxley "Whistle-Blowing" federal legislation 13 actual case histories, plus 10 additional "anonymous" case histories-in consistent format-will clearly demonstrate the relevance of ethics in the outcomes of each one Offers actual investigative reports, with evidentiary material, legal proceedings, outcome and follow-up analysis Appendix offers copies of the National Society of Professional Engineers Code of Ethics for Engineers and the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers Code of Ethics
Publication Date: 2006-04-11
Robot Ethics by Patrick Lin (Editor); Keith Abney (Editor); George A. Bekey (Editor)Prominent experts from science and the humanities explore issues in robot ethics that range from sex to war. Robots today serve in many roles, from entertainer to educator to executioner. As robotics technology advances, ethical concerns become more pressing: Should robots be programmed to follow a code of ethics, if this is even possible? Are there risks in forming emotional bonds with robots? How might society--and ethics--change with robotics? This volume is the first book to bring together prominent scholars and experts from both science and the humanities to explore these and other questions in this emerging field. Starting with an overview of the issues and relevant ethical theories, the topics flow naturally from the possibility of programming robot ethics to the ethical use of military robots in war to legal and policy questions, including liability and privacy concerns. The contributors then turn to human-robot emotional relationships, examining the ethical implications of robots as sexual partners, caregivers, and servants. Finally, they explore the possibility that robots, whether biological-computational hybrids or pure machines, should be given rights or moral consideration. Ethics is often slow to catch up with technological developments. This authoritative and accessible volume fills a gap in both scholarly literature and policy discussion, offering an impressive collection of expert analyses of the most crucial topics in this increasingly important field.
Publication Date: 2014-01-10
Engineering Design and Systems
Planning and Design of Engineering Systems, Third Edition by Graeme Dandy; Trevor Daniell; Robert Warner; Bernadette FoleyThis newly updated book offers a comprehensive introduction to the scope and nature of engineering work, taking a rigorous but common sense approach to the solution of engineering problems. The text follows the planning, modelling and design phases of engineering projects through to implementation or construction, explaining the conceptual framework for undertaking projects, and then providing a range of techniques and tools for solutions. It focuses on engineering design and problem solving, but also involves economic, environmental, social and ethical considerations. This third edition expands significantly on the economic evaluation of projects and also includes a new section on intractable problems and systems, involving a discussion of wicked problems and soft systems methodology as well as the approaches to software development. Further developments include an array of additional interest boxes, worked examples, problems and up-to date references. Case studies and real-world examples are used to illustrate the role of the engineer and especially the methods employed in engineering practice. The examples are drawn particularly from the fields of civil and environmental engineering, but the approaches and techniques are more widely applicable to other branches of engineering. The book is aimed at first-year engineering students, but contains material to suit more advanced undergraduates. It also functions as a professional handbook, covering some of the fundamentals of engineering planning and design in detail.
Publication Date: 2017-11-08
Chemical Engineering Design by Gavin Towler; R. K. SinnottChemical Engineering Design, Second Edition, deals with the application of chemical engineering principles to the design of chemical processes and equipment. Revised throughout, this edition has been specifically developed for the U.S. market. It provides the latest US codes and standards, including API, ASME and ISA design codes and ANSI standards. It contains new discussions of conceptual plant design, flowsheet development, and revamp design; extended coverage of capital cost estimation, process costing, and economics; and new chapters on equipment selection, reactor design, and solids handling processes. A rigorous pedagogy assists learning, with detailed worked examples, end of chapter exercises, plus supporting data, and Excel spreadsheet calculations, plus over 150 Patent References for downloading from the companion website. Extensive instructor resources, including 1170 lecture slides and a fully worked solutions manual are available to adopting instructors. This text is designed for chemical and biochemical engineering students (senior undergraduate year, plus appropriate for capstone design courses where taken, plus graduates) and lecturers/tutors, and professionals in industry (chemical process, biochemical, pharmaceutical, petrochemical sectors). New to this edition: Revised organization into Part I: Process Design, and Part II: Plant Design. The broad themes of Part I are flowsheet development, economic analysis, safety and environmental impact and optimization. Part II contains chapters on equipment design and selection that can be used as supplements to a lecture course or as essential references for students or practicing engineers working on design projects. New discussion of conceptual plant design, flowsheet development and revamp design Significantly increased coverage of capital cost estimation, process costing and economics New chapters on equipment selection, reactor design and solids handling processes New sections on fermentation, adsorption, membrane separations, ion exchange and chromatography Increased coverage of batch processing, food, pharmaceutical and biological processes All equipment chapters in Part II revised and updated with current information Updated throughout for latest US codes and standards, including API, ASME and ISA design codes and ANSI standards Additional worked examples and homework problems The most complete and up to date coverage of equipment selection 108 realistic commercial design projects from diverse industries A rigorous pedagogy assists learning, with detailed worked examples, end of chapter exercises, plus supporting data and Excel spreadsheet calculations plus over 150 Patent References, for downloading from the companion website Extensive instructor resources: 1170 lecture slides plus fully worked solutions manual available to adopting instructors