Textbooks flagged as accessible meet the criteria noted on the Accessibility Checklist
textbook cover image
Get This Book
Select a file format
Creative Commons License
Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering I by Don Johnson, Rice University is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.
Introduction to Electrical Engineering by Mulukutla S. SarmaIntroduction to Electrical Engineering is ideal for courses that introduce non-electrical engineering majors to the language and principles of electrical engineering. This text discusses the underlying concepts and methods behind various electrical engineering applications--from consumer gadgets and biomedical electronics to sophisticated instrumentation systems, computers and electric machinery. Sarma highlights basic physical concepts while also emphasizing mathematical techniques, motivating students to learn the material in a logical sequence beginning with physical principles and extending to processes, modeling, using analytical techniques, and finally, designing. * Incorporates practical and open-ended case studies at the end of each chapter* Includes more than 1,000 end-of-chapter problems, a wealth of examples, and more than 1,500 illustrations* Offers comprehensive chapters on signal processing, control systems, and communication systems* Provides integrated coverage of MATLAB and SPICE * Adopts a modern focus on design and teamwork * Contains complete solutions to 20% of the end-of-chapter problems on the enclosed CD* Includes helpful appendixes on the FE examination; mathematical relations; solution of simultaneous equations; complex numbers; Fourier series; Laplace transforms; and more Contents:Each chapter ends with a Problems sectionList of Case Studies and Computer-Aided AnalysisPrefaceOverviewPart 1: Electrical Circuits1. Circuit Concepts2. Circuit Analysis Techniques3. Time-Dependent Circuit Analysis4. Three-Phase Circuits and Residential WiringPart 2: Electronic Analog and digital Systems5. Analog Building Blocks and Operational Amplifiers6. Digital Building Blocks and Computer Systems7. Semiconductor Devices8. Transistor Amplifiers9. Digital CircuitsPart 3: Energy Systems10. AC Power Systems11. Magnetic Circuits and Transformers12. Electromechanics13. Rotating MachinesPart 4: Information Systems14. Signal Processing15. Communication SystemsPart 5: Control Systems16. Basic Control SystemsAppendixesA. ReferencesB. Brief Review of Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) ExaminationC. Technical Terms, Units, Constants, and Conversion Factors for the SI SystemD. Mathematical RelationsE. Solution of Simultaneous EquationsF. Complex NumbersG. Fourier SeriesH. Laplace TransformsIndexAncillary material: * A CD-ROM is packaged with eachcopy of the text, including complete solutions for students to 20% of the text problems and a demonstration version of Electronics Workbench Multisim Version 6* Solutions Manual: 0195142608* An Instructor's CD-ROM containing Microsoft PowerPoint#65533; Overheads that provide over 350 text figures and captions for classroom projection use: 0195144724 * Companion website: http://www.mssarma.org
Publication Date: 2000-11-16
Electrical and Electronic Principles and Technology by John BirdIn this book John Bird introduces electrical principles and technology through examples rather than theory - enabling students to develop a sound understanding of the principles needed by technicians in fields such as electrical engineering, electronics and telecommunications. No previous background in engineering is assumed, making this an ideal text for vocational courses and introductory courses for undergraduates. This new edition of Electrical and Electronic Principles and Technology has been brought fully in line with the new BTEC National specifications in the U.K. for the units: Electrical and Electronic Principles and Further Electrical and Electronic Principles, and the corresponding AVCE units. It is also designed to cover the requirements of Intermediate GNVQ and the new BTEC First specifications. At intervals through the text assessment papers are provided, which are ideal for tests or homeworks. These are the only problems where answers are not provided in the book, but fully worked solutions are available to lecturers only as a free download from the password-protected tutor's area of newnespress.com. * A st
Publication Date: 2003-05-07
Fundamentals of Engineering Electromagnetics by Rajeev BansalElectromagnetics is too important in too many fields for knowledge to be gathered on the fly. A deep understanding gained through structured presentation of concepts and practical problem solving is the best way to approach this important subject. Fundamentals of Engineering Electromagnetics provides such an understanding, distilling the most important theoretical aspects and applying this knowledge to the formulation and solution of real engineering problems. Comprising chapters drawn from the critically acclaimed Handbook of Engineering Electromagnetics, this book supplies a focused treatment that is ideal for specialists in areas such as medicine, communications, and remote sensing who have a need to understand and apply electromagnetic principles, but who are unfamiliar with the field. Here is what the critics have to say about the original work OC accompanied with practical engineering applications and useful illustrations, as well as a good selection of references OC those chapters that are devoted to areas that I am less familiar with, but currently have a need to address, have certainly been valuable to me. This book will therefore provide a useful resource for many engineers working in applied electromagnetics, particularly those in the early stages of their careers. -Alastair R. Ruddle, The IEE Online OC a tour of practical electromagnetics written by industry experts OC provides an excellent tour of the practical side of electromagnetics OC a useful reference for a wide range of electromagnetics problems OC a very useful and well-written compendiumOC -Alfy Riddle, IEEE Microwave Magazine Fundamentals of Engineering Electromagnetics lays the theoretical foundation for solving new and complex engineering problems involving electromagnetics."