Introduction to Nuclear and Radiochemistry by Frank RöschNuclear chemistry represents a vital field of basic and applied research. Modern applications cover, for example, fundamental aspects of energetics and high-sensitive, high-selective and non-destructive analytical technologies. Nuclear chemistry and radiopharmaceutical chemistry are increasingly used to bridge pharmaceutical and medical research with state-of-the-art non-invasive molecular diagnosis as well as with patient-individual treatment. This volume I on Introduction to Nuclear Chemistry describes the origin of unstable atoms and their various primary and secondary pathways to stabilize. Volume II illustrates the spectrum of modern applications of nuclear and radiochemistry. In various chapters, the present volume I addresses -the structure of atoms and the nuclei of atoms, -the transformation of unstable nuclei to more stable nucleon configurations, -the mechanisms of the main transformation pathways and their kinetics, -the character of the radiation emitted from these processes, -the interaction of this radiation with condensed matter, -and finally nuclear reaction processes to produce new nuclei.
Publication Date: 2014-08-19
Nuclear and Radiochemistry by Jens-Volker Kratz; Karl Heinrich LieserThe third edition of this classic in the field is completely updated and revised with approximately 30% new content so as to include the latest developments. The handbook and ready reference comprehensively covers nuclear and radiochemistry in a well-structured and readily accessible manner, dealing with the theory and fundamentals in the first half, followed by chapters devoted to such specific topics as nuclear energy and reactors, radiotracers, and radionuclides in the life sciences. The result is a valuable resource for both newcomers as well as established scientists in the field.
Publication Date: 2013-12-04
Nuclear Power Plants by George Petridis; Dimitrios NicolauThis book explores nuclear power plants which stand on the border between humanity's greatest hopes and its deepest fears for the future. Atomic energy offers a clean energy alternative that frees us from the shackles of fossil fuel dependence, while also having lived through the disasters of the quake-ruptured Japanese power plant now spewing radioactive steam, and the dead zone surrounding Chernobyl's concrete sarcophagus. Topics discussed include the investigation of materials and components obtained from nuclear power plants decommissioning; high-temperature gas-cooled reactors; the impact and effects of the ongoing discussion on the nuclear phase-out in Germany; modeling of corrosion product activity in primary circuits of pressurized water reactors and the fundamental stability analysis of hypothetical boiling and pressurized water reactors.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Nuclear Materials by Michael P. Hemsworth (Editor)In this book, the authors gather topical research in the study of nuclear materials. Topics discussed include experimental studies in nuclear fuel alloys for research reactors; the removal of arsenic from ground and surface waters using lanthanides; microstructural characterisation of zirconium based alloys and current trends in the mathematical modelling and simulation of fission product transport from fuel to primary coolant of PWRs.
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Nuclear Energy by Charles D. FergusonOriginally perceived as a cheap and plentiful source of power, the commercial use of nuclear energy has been controversial for decades. Worries about the dangers that nuclear plants and their radioactive waste posed to nearby communities grew over time, and plant construction in the United States virtually died after the early 1980s. The 1986 disaster at Chernobyl only reinforced nuclear power's negative image. Yet in the decade prior to the Japanese nuclear crisis of 2011, sentiment about nuclear power underwent a marked change. The alarming acceleration of global warming due to the burning of fossil fuels and concern about dependence on foreign fuel has led policymakers, climate scientists, and energy experts to look once again at nuclear power as a source of energy. In this accessible overview, Charles D. Ferguson provides an authoritative account of the key facts about nuclear energy. What is the origin of nuclear energy? What countries use commercial nuclear power, and how much electricity do they obtain from it? How can future nuclear power plants be made safer? What can countries do to protect their nuclear facilities from military attacks? How hazardous is radioactive waste? Is nuclear energy a renewable energy source? Featuring a discussion of the recent nuclear crisis in Japan and its ramifications, Ferguson addresses these questions and more in a book that is essential for anyone looking to learn more about this important issue.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Nuclear Safety by Gianni PetrangeliNuclear Safety provides the methods and data needed to evaluate and manage the safety of nuclear facilities and related processes using risk-based safety analysis, and provides readers with the techniques to assess the consequences of radioactive releases. The book covers relevant international and regional safety criteria (US, IAEA, EUR, PUN, URD, INI). The contents deal with each of the critical components of a nuclear plant, and provide an analysis of the risks arising from a variety of sources, including earthquakes, tornadoes, external impact and human factors. It also deals with the safety of underground nuclear testing and the handling of radioactive waste. Covers all plant components and potential sources of risk including human, technical and natural factors. Brings together information on nuclear safety for which the reader would previously have to consult many different and expensive sources. Provides international design and safety criteria and an overview of regulatory regimes.
Fundamentals of Nuclear Science and Engineering Third Edition by J. Kenneth Shultis; Richard E. Faw; Douglas S. McGregorFundamentals of Nuclear Science and Engineering, Third Edition, presents the nuclear science concepts needed to understand and quantify the whole range of nuclear phenomena. Noted for its accessible level and approach, the Third Edition of this long-time bestselling textbook provides overviews of nuclear physics, nuclear power, medicine, propulsion, and radiation detection. Its flexible organization allows for use with Nuclear Engineering majors and those in other disciplines. The Third Edition features updated coverage of the newest nuclear reactor designs, fusion reactors, radiation health risks, and expanded discussion of basic reactor physics with added examples. A complete Solutions Manual and figure slides for classroom projection are available for instructors adopting the text.