Environmental Engineering by N. S VarandaniThe book is aimed at covering the syllabi requirements of Environmental Engineering-I offered to the undergraduate students of civil engineering. Designed with a student friendly approach, envisioning the benchmark status of the text, the treatise provides collective and definitive information on various aspects of Environmental Engineering including quantity and quality of water, house drainage, environmental microbiology, air pollution and solid waste management.
Publication Date: 2017
Probability, Statistics, and Decision for Civil Engineers by Jack R. Benjamin; C. Allin CornellDesigned as a primary text for civil engineering courses, as a supplementary text for courses in other areas, or for self-study by practicing engineers, this text covers the development of decision theory and the applications of probability within the field. Extensive use of examples and illustrations helps readers develop an in-depth appreciation for the theory's applications, which include strength of materials, soil mechanics, construction planning, and water-resource design. A focus on fundamentals includes such subjects as Bayesian statistical decision theory, subjective probability, and utility theory. This makes the material accessible to engineers trained in classical statistics and also provides a brief elementary introduction to probability. The coverage also addresses in detail the methods for analyzing engineering economic decisions in the face of uncertainty. An Appendix of tables makes this volume particularly useful as a reference text.
Publication Date: 2014-07-16
Fundamentals of Civil Engineering by Richard H. McCuen; Edna Z. Ezzell; Melanie K. WongWhile the ASCE Body of Knowledge(BOK2) is thecodified source for all technical and non-technical information necessary for those seeking to attain licensure in civil engineering, recent graduates have notoriously been lacking in the non-technical aspects even as they excel in the technical. Fundamentals of Civil Engineering: An Introduction to the ASCE Body of Knowledgeaddresses this shortfall and helps budding engineers develop the knowledge, skills, and attitudes suggested and implied by the BOK2. Written as a resource for all of the non-technical outcomes not specifically covered in the BOK2, it details fundamental aspects of fourteen outcomes addressed in the second edition of the ASCE Body of Knowledgeand encourages a broader perspective and understanding of the role of civil engineers in society as well as the reciprocal influence between civil engineering and social evolution. With discussion questions and group activities at the end of each chapter, topics covered include humanities and social sciences, experimentation, sustainability, contemporary issues and historical perspectives, risk and uncertainty, communication, public policy, globalization, leadership and teamwork, and professional and ethical responsibilities. Suitable for both current and former students in pursuit of further breadth and depth of knowledge and professional maturity, this primer promotes introspection, self-evaluation, and self-learning. It details those attitudes that are essential to the achievement of personal and professional success and advancement to positions of leadership, and encourages an appreciation of the human values that are fundamental to professional practice.
Basic Civil and Environmental Engineering by C. P. Kaushik; S. S. Bhavikatti; Anubha KaushikAbout the Book: Basic civil and environmental engineering paper has been introduced for the undergraduate students of Pune University. The course is aimed at imparting basic knowledge of civil engineering encompassing various types of constructions and automation in construction and environmental engineering covering ecology and ecosystem, environmental pollution, energy resources, EIA and built environment. This book is written with a view to provide diverse information on the subject in a lucid style. Contents: Section-I: Basic Civil Engineering Chapter 1: Introduction to Civil Engineering Chapter II: Basic Areas in Civil Engineering Chapter III: Materials of Construction Chapter IV: Construction of Substructures Chapter V: Superstructures Chapter VI: Introduction to Automation in Construction Chapter VII: Introduction to Surveying Chapter VIII: Introduction to Levelling Chapter IX: Introduction to GIS and Other Survey Softwares Section-II: Environmental Engineering Chapter X: Ecology and Ecosystem Chapter XI: Planning for the Built Environment Chapter XII: Energy and Environmental Pollution
Publication Date: 2010
Basic Environmental Engineering by R. C. GaurAbout the Book: This textbook provides the basic information about the Environmental Engineering and as such, very much useful for the first year B. Tech. students of all branches/disciplines. The book covers the new syllabus of the semester scheme for t
Publication Date: 2008
Introduction to Design for Civil Engineers by R. S. Narayanan; A. W. BeebyAn Introduction to Design for Civil Engineersis a concise book that provides the reader with the necessary background on terminology used in design. With this book as a guide, entry-level students of civil engineering will better understand from the outset lectures on detailed subject areas. Drawing on a wealth of experience, the authors present a largely qualitative treatment of the subject matter with little mathematics. Descriptions are amplified with numerous illustrations. This book will be a useful aid for entry-level students of civil engineering and related disciplines such as structural engineering, building engineering and architecture. It will also prove beneficial for newly qualified professionals and others who want a concise guide to everyday design technology.
Publication Date: 2000-09-28
Environmental Engineering by Jeffrey J. Peirce; Robin Matthews (Editor); Ruth Weiner (Editor)This book provides a comprehensive introduction to air, water, noise, and radioactive materials pollution and its control. Legal and regulatory principles and risk analysis are included in addition to engineering principles. The text presents the engineering principles governing the generation and control of air and water pollutants, solid and hazardous waste, and noise. Water quality and drinking water treatment are discussed, as well as the elements of risk analysis. Radioactive waste generation and treatment in relation to the nuclear fuel cycle, are discussed. The health and environmental effects of all these pollutants are discussed. An introduction to the Federal laws and regulations governing pollution is included. This text embraces the latest thinking in environmental engineering Includes updates in regulation and current pollution abatement technologies
Publication Date: 2003-04-14
Environmental Engineering Laboratory Manual by R. C. GaurAbout the Book: This manual provides the knowledge about the basic experiments done in the Environmental Engineering and as such, very much useful for the first year B. Tech. students of all branches/disciplines. The manual covers the new syllabus of the