LibGuides: Shakespeare: Library Research: Find Articles

Using Article Quick Search

Article Quick Search is the name of the search engine for the library's journal content. It includes both titles the library owns and some it does not. If the library does not have access to an article, request it through Interlibrary Loan. Be sure first that the library does not own the title!

UML Library Databases

MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on over 6,000 journals.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations covering research in literature, linguistics, and folklore.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text articles and books covering antiques, art and art history, film, interior and landscape design, and much more.
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of more than 240 periodicals and more than 140 books along with cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications as well as for over 150 books. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 50 additional publications. This database covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, film, interior and landscape design, and much more.
Fine Arts Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 300 full-text journals covering drama, music, art, filmmaking and more.
Coverage: 1980 - current
The Fine Arts & Music Collection contains nearly 300 full-text journals with over 100 of those peer-reviewed with a focus on titles indexed in Wilson Art and RILM.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer 509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month. Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics, economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 books, literary encyclopedias, and hundreds of literary journals.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Articles, criticism, reviews, and biographies covering over 130,000 writers.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access over 300 journal titles covering the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Coverage: varies (earliest date 1995) - current
Scribner Writers Online Series This link opens in a new window
Bio-critical scholarly essays covering world literature in 22 critical editions.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic citations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance periods.
Coverage: 400-1700
Iter contains more than 935,000 citations from articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, encyclopedia entries and reviews collected from over 6,600 publications, including over 1,600 journals. The search interface permits expert searching by keyword, title, author and, for selected records, by Library of Congress subject headings and Dewey Decimal Classification. The interface supports Boolean and positional operators, and allows limiting by language, publication type and publication year. Results lists can be sorted by author, subject, title, relevance or publication year. Records can be marked and conveniently e-mailed or downloaded.

Google Scholar Sample Searches

Google Scholar limits your search to .edu, .gov and .org sources and searches many of the UML Libraries' subscription databases. It also has the advantage of telling you how many scholars cited each article when writing their scholarly articles and gives you a link to find related articles once you find one that you feel is particularly relevant to your research.

Remember to use quotes to keep words together when researching your topics. The word and may be substituted for the "+" sign in the examples below. Some choices for the themes suggested for research on the plays are:

Leadership + "Antony and Cleopatra"
Power + "Antony and Cleopatra"
Culture + Rome + Egypt
Ethics + "Antony and Cleopatra"
Leadership + Ethics + "Antony and Cleopatra"
"Women as Leaders"
"Women as Leaders" + Cleopatra
Cleopatra as Leader
Cleopatra as Ruler

Do not limit your research by only using these suggestions. Try other combinations. If you are not finding anything, start with a broad topic and refine your search based on your findings.