Cabell's Directories helps to determine what types of manuscripts journals typically publish. The index in each Directory helps match the characteristics of a manuscript to the topic areas the journal emphasizes and acceptance rate. The Directory also includes information on the style and format of most journals to further assist authors in organizing and preparing manuscripts. Furthermore, the Directory describes the type of review process used by the editor(s) of a journal, type of review, number of reviewers, acceptance rate, time required for review, availability of reviewers' comments, number of copies required and manuscript topics. Information on the journals printed and electronic launch dates and ISSNs are also provided.
Dimensions is a linked research data platform, with a much wider and more open scope than PubMed, Scopus, or Web of Science. Dimensions is designed to provide better knowledge about what is going on in your research area, and how this is changing over time.
Eigenfactor is a free & searchable database that covers the natural and social sciences and "also lists newsprint, PhD theses, popular magazines and more." The Eigenfactor is now included in the ISI product, Journal Citation Reports.
Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarize recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research.
A free source that uses data from Elsevier's Scopus database and includes journal indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database from 1996. It does not include journal impact factors but does have a number of other indicators, including SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) and h-index, cites per document, etc. Journals may be ranked by very broad subject areas, more specific subject categories, SJR, h-index, etc.