The End of Fundraising by Jason SaulWhy does it cost nonprofits on average $20 to raise $100, while it costs companies only $4? Simply put: Nonprofits have no leverage. No one has to make a donation. And since most donors have no direct stake in the organizations they support, they make donations out of the goodness of their hearts. If donors feel like writing a check, they will. If they don't, they won't. The End of Fundraising turns fundraising on its head, teaching nonprofits how to stop begging for charity and start selling impact. For the first time, nonprofits have economic power. We live in a new era where consumers, businesses, investors, employees, and service providers attach real economic value to social outcomes. An era where yesterday's "feel good" issues--education, the environment, health care, the arts, and animal rights--now have direct economic consequences and opportunities. Nonprofits now have leverage. To use this leverage, nonprofits must learn how to "sell" their impact to a new set of stakeholders. Using his fifteen years of experience advising the world's leading nonprofits, foundations, and corporations, Jason Saul reveals the formula for how nonprofits transcend the paradigm of charitable fundraising and reach true financial sustainability. Specifically, this groundbreaking book offers nonprofit professionals a guide to Understand the role of social change in our economy Capture and communicate impact in simple, compelling terms Identify the new market stakeholders that value nonprofit outcomes Create powerful value propositions to increase leverage Improve the success of a nonprofit's pitches to funders The End of Fundraising includes the tools needed to effectively frame, market, and sell a nonprofit organization's impact, and contains step-by-step guidance for creating dynamic new opportunities with a variety of funders.
Publication Date: 2011-02-02
Event Sponsorship by Bruce E. Skinner; Vladimir RukavinaState-of-the-art methods for finding, securing, and retaining the best corporate sponsors The authoritative guide to creating and closing deals with irresistible ROIs Event Sponsorship provides step-by-step guidelines for attracting, signing, and keeping sponsorship for any event, including festivals, conventions, expositions, sporting events, arts and entertainment spectaculars, charity benefits, and much more. This hands-on resource presents successful strategies and tools for staying competitive in today's market by offering corporate sponsors the highest return possible on their investment. Leading experts give real-world advice for researching and targeting prospective companies, developing a sponsorship marketing plan, creating an effective proposal, selling the sponsorship, and negotiating a deal. Learn how to bring increased sponsorship dollars to any event by: Placing value on sponsorships Expanding the value of a sponsor Creating the best image for an event Networking with other event professionals worldwide With complete coverage including case studies, legal issues, the Internet, the sophisticated corporate customer, non-sports sponsorship opportunities, and an international view of sponsorship, Event Sponsorship is a powerful tool for event managers and other event professionals. THE WILEY EVENT MANAGEMENT SERIES-Series Editor, Dr. Joe Goldblatt, CSEP THE WILEY EVENT MANAGEMENT SERIES provides professionals with the essential knowledge and cutting-edge tools they need to excel in one of the most exciting and rapidly growing sectors of the hospitality and tourism industry. Written by recognized experts in the field, the volumes in the series cover the research, design, planning, coordination, and evaluation methods as well as specialized areas of event management.
Publication Date: 2002-10-18
Fundraising Online by Gary M. GrobmanSearch-engine marketing, blogs, personal fundraising pages, and podcasting are just a few of the strategies and techniques outlined in this handbook to assist fundraisers in harnessing the power of the Internet. This guide outlines a step-by-step approach to taking advantage of the e-philanthropy revolution, including a discussion of the pros and cons of soliciting funds on the web and an evaluation of creative business models - from online donor-recognition pages and virtual charity shopping malls to e-commerce and click to give sites. Advice on developing a strategic online fundraising plan and a section on how to successfully engage in nonprofit e-commerce, selling goods and services online, order fulfillment, customer service, payment processing, and handling returns are also included.
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Fundraising with Businesses by Joe Waters40 proven strategies for raising big money with businesses There's a reason why nonprofits are getting smaller checks from corporate giving programs. Companies are abandoning or slashing giving budgets and instead focusing on win-win pacts that drive salesnbsp;andnbsp;change the world. Nonprofits need guidance and practical know-how in this new age of mutually beneficial nonprofit and business partnerships.nbsp; Presenting forty practical fundraising strategies to help small to medium-sized nonprofits raise more money from businesses,nbsp;Fundraising with Businessesnbsp;breathes new life into nonprofit / for-profit relationships to begin a new era of doing goodnbsp;andnbsp;well. Presents new and improved fundraising strategies for raising money from businesses--from in-store register promotions and shopping fundraisers to online workplace giving solutions and digital campaigns involving popular social networking sites. Written by an experienced fundraiser and renowned blogger and speaker on business giving. nbsp; Features case examples of successful nonprofit/corporate partnerships that will be regularly updated via a link with the online pin board Pinterest.nbsp; The fundraising potential of working with businesses is greater than ever. Readnbsp;Fundraising with Businessesnbsp;and discover the tools to turn existing and new business relationships into successful--and lucrative--partnerships.
Publication Date: 2013-11-25
How to Build and Mobilize a Social Media Community for Your Nonprofit in 90 Days by Julia CampbellStressed about social media? Trying to figure out how to effectively use these platforms to activate your supporters and engage more people in your mission? Feeling overwhelmed and whipsawed by all the information out there? I wrote this book to give you, and nonprofit social media managers like you, a simple, actionable, and practical framework to transform your current social media efforts in just 90 days. I know from first-hand experience that nonprofit marketers are both intimidated and excited by the sheer number of social media resources available to them.
Nonprofit Fundraising 101 by Darian Rodriguez HeymanRaise more money for your cause! Based on expert advice and insights from a variety of respected industry experts, Nonprofit Fundraising 101 is an essential text for nonprofit professionals, volunteers, activists, and social entrepreneurs who want to leverage best practices to promote their cause. Built upon the success of the best-selling Nonprofit Management 101, this easy to digest book provides practical, comprehensive guidance for nonprofit fundraising around the globe. With tips and tools, expert advice, and real-world insights from almost fifty industry leaders, this robust resource addresses the entire spectrum of fundraising for nonprofits, including: Planning, hiring, and tracking progress Individual donors, major gifts, events, and direct mail Board and volunteer engagement Foundation and government grants Corporate partnerships Online and email fundraising Social media and mobile crowdfunding Earned income and social enterprise Written by and for front line practitioners and geared towards a global audience of emerging and established leaders, this field guide offers step-by-step formulas for success. Nonprofit Fundraising 101 features a foreword by fundraising guru and Soul of Money author Lynne Twist, insights from notable non-profit professionals such as CNN's Van Jones, and an afterword by Kiva.org Co-Founder & President Premal Shah. This book also provides indispensible ideas and diverse case studies ranging from grassroots efforts to the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge, and advice for organizations of all sizes and focus. Chapters are brief and easily digestible, featuring extensive resources for additional learning, concrete best practices, and pitfalls to avoid. Enjoy this must-read manual to learn tried and true ways to raise more money for your cause, nonprofit, or charity.
Publication Date: 2015-12-29
The Nonprofit Fundraising Solution by Laurence A. Pagnoni; Michael Solomon (As told to)Between government cutbacks, shrinking endowments, and business belt-tightening, the nonprofit sector may end up being the biggest victim of today's topsy-turvy market that few even hear about. But this does not mean that nonprofits aren't just as vital as before--if not more so--or that yours cannot receive the regular funding it needs to fulfill the mission you heroically set out to do. But it's going to take the same type of advanced organizational and competitive strategies that the most successful for-profit businesses have utilized in order to remain atop the leader board.Bridging the gap between theory and practical methods, The Nonprofit Fundraising Solution shows readers how to: * Ensure that executive leadership and board dynamics fully support fundraising initiatives * Build a broad constituency of donors aligned to the mission * Determine the right level of funding diversification * Use tactics such as challenge drives, stretch gifts, and corporate matching; parlor gatherings; leadership councils; year-end drives; corporate partnerships; and major campaigns to power revenue, increase access to wealthy donors, and raise their community profile * Proactively encourage planned giving * Avoid revenue plateausTo survive and ultimately thrive, a nonprofit needs forceful revenue strategies and an organizational culture that champions them. Complete with stories of those who have done this exceptionally well, as well as "casebooks" of the strategies-in-action, this invaluable resource for philanthropists of all kinds reveals how any nonprofit can implement advanced fundraising methods and secure the funds they need to excel.
Successful Corporate Fund Raising by K. Scott SheldonCorporate giving currently accounts for nearly 10 percent of allcharitable donations nationwide, and most experts agree that theflow of corporate resources earmarked for nonprofit programs is onthe rise. Yet, many fund raisers are held back from tapping thisgold mine by the fear they don t know how to "play the system"correctly. When it comes to soliciting corporate funds, even oldhands at private fund raising find themselves stymied by the lackof clear-cut answers to such critical questions as: "How do I findout which companies give and how do I obtain information aboutthem?" "Who are the funding decision makers, and how do I appeal tothem and cultivate relationships with them?" "What hidden stringsand pitfalls should I be aware of when soliciting corporatefunds?" Successful Corporate Fund Raising provides in-depth answers tothese and all your questions about finding and winning corporatefunds. The distillation of Scott Sheldon s more than two decades ofexperience as a corporate fund raiser, it provides a completeblueprint for developing and maintaining successful corporatefund-raising programs at nonprofits of all sizes. The book begins with an in-depth exploration of the world ofcontemporary corporate giving. It explains the key differencesbetween private funding and the "strategic philanthropy" practicedby many corporations. It describes the various forms corporategiving most commonly takes, including cash, in-kind, andvolunteerism. And it clearly spells out the motivations,perceptions, expectations, and conditions driving most corporatefunding.The lion s share of the book is devoted to schoolingreaders in effective low-cost strategies for locating, obtaining,and managing corporate resources. Organized around the five keycomponents of a successful corporate funding initiative, itprovides step-by-step guidance on how to research corporatefunders, cultivate relationships with key personnel, solicitcorporate resources, evaluate the efficacy of fund-raisinginitiatives, and manage funded programs. It also supplies a wealthof forms, questionnaires, sample letters and proposals, checklists,and other valuable tools that can easily be adapted for use in yourorganization. Successful Corporate Fund Raising is an indispensableworking resource for all nonprofit fund raisers, developmentmanagers, agency executives, and board members. An expert s guide to finding and winning corporate support for yournonprofit organization. This book shows fund raisers and executives at nonprofits of allsizes how to take advantage of the current corporate fundingopportunities. K. Scott Sheldon provides a fresh, insider s look atcontemporary corporate giving, and he develops a complete blueprintfor developing a corporate fund-raising program. Step-by-step, hewalks you through the entire corporate fund-raising processand: * Describes proven fund-raising strategies and techniques that canbe integrated into virtually any nonprofit organization * Alerts you to the common pitfalls to corporate solicitation andshows you how to avoid them * Explores the impact of new technologies on corporate fundraising * Details solid strategies for taking advantage of resources otherthan cash, including in-kind donations and volunteers * Illustrates key points with fascinating and instructivereal-world case studies * Arms you with an array of forms, checklists, sample documents,questionnaires, and other valuable tools