Skip to main content

UMass Lowell Libraries: Coronavirus 2021

Library Resources Related to Covid 19

Spring Support from the UMass Lowell Libraries

The UMass Lowell Library staff will continue to support faculty and students virtually during the Spring 2021 semester. Below is an overview of services the library will provide for faculty in the Spring. If you have further questions or need help, start by searching our 
FAQs to see if the answer is already posted. You can also send an email to Ask a Librarian. As resources and new information becomes available we will post them on our COVID-19 LibGuide

The Center for Lowell History will be accessible by appointment only. 

Reserves

Hard copy course reserves won't be available in the UML Libraries this spring. We will host electronic versions to the extent possible. Materials should be submitted 4 weeks in advance. Learn more about these emergency measures in our reserves guide.

Digitization requests

The library is accepting requests to digitize videos for faculty, and we will assist to the extent that current staffing allows.  You will be asked to provide a copy of the DVD that you wish to digitize. Contact Celine Beaudry, (Celine_Beaudry@uml.edu),with DVD digitization requests.

Text digitization is limited to what is in our collection and will need to be scanned, like articles in our journal archives. Due to copyright law, we can’t digitize entire books but we can digitize portions of books. Please plan ahead if you need these services, as library staff requires several weeks to complete these requests. 

Books 

    • Please follow the instructions on this Brainshark video to request books to borrow with no-contact pick-up.
    • Pickups and returns will be at Lydon in the vestibule with the stairs that lead to the tunnel, Mondays and Thursdays from 8:30 am-5:00 pm, starting in September. You can use your UCard to open the outer doors.
    • If you have outstanding library books, please return them to Lydon Library as soon as possible. The return bin is in the vestibule at the entrance near Starbucks. Users will need the UCard to open the outer doors (the inner doors are locked) It's available Mondays and Thursdays only.
    • If you are unable to come to campus to return books, they can be returned by mail using book rate postage to Lydon Library, Attn: Returns, 84 University Avenue, Lowell, MA 01854.
    • Before borrowing a book for the first time, please make sure you register with the library if you have not already done so. 

Databases 

    • We have a large collection of databases from large multidisciplinary collections to small subject-specific options   
    • VPN Access no longer includes library database access. Please make sure, when you’re working from home, that you use the library webpage or LibGuides to access our databases and resources.

Films on Demand

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

The library will resume requesting print materials like books and DVDs. ILL requests for journal articles will continue as well. Other libraries may have limited access to their collections and reduced hours so we expect significantly longer wait times for receiving requests and to have many more unfillable requests. Use our catalog to search for and request print books through our ILL service and our databases to request articles. Please remember, we are not able to request access to ebooks. 

Materials will be available for pick up and return at Lydon on Mondays and Thursdays. Borrowers will need their UCard to gain entrance to the vestibule at Lydon. The interior will not be open to patrons. Borrowers who have difficulty with the stairs should contact Judith_BarnesLong@uml.edu to make an appointment to pick up materials.

BPL Ecard and Local Libraries 

    • Want more options? The Boston Public library has their own set of databases and resources including Kanopy and Hoopla for more videos. 

Research Guides 

    • We have subject and class LibGuides full of resources to aid students with class research projects.

OER (Open Educational Resources) and Textbooks


Instruction

Research, Information Literacy, and Library instruction is available virtually. We have options that include live workshops over Zoom and pre-recorded videos that can be embedded into Blackboard and LibGuides.

Review YouTube videos and embed them as needed

Changes to Course Reserve Procedure for Spring 2021

To protect the health and safety of our community, hard copy course reserves will not be available in the UML Libraries in Spring 2021. In this emergency situation, the UML Libraries will attempt to host electronic versions to the extent possible. To do this we are asking instructors to provide the electronic materials by creating machine readable pdfs. Materials should be submitted 4 weeks in advance.

If you have questions please contact

Ellen Keane (Ellen_Keane@uml.edu)

or

Meg Shields (Margaret_Shields@uml.edu)