A database is a collection of information on a website organized so you can conduct a search (by keyword, title, author, etc). The UML Library provides access to many databases in all subject areas. They include journal articles, books, conference papers, maps, government reports, etc.
Article Quick Searchon the UML Library Home Page searches many of the library databases simultaneously, but not all of them. If you need to research a narrow topic, try the databases below.
Databases will include some titles available in full text and some as titles only. If the article or book you need doesn't is not available in full text, in most cases you will be able to use Interlibrary Loan to access the item.
Dimensions is a linked research data platform, with a much wider and more open scope than PubMed, Scopus, or Web of Science. Dimensions is designed to provide better knowledge about what is going on in your research area, and how this is changing over time.
Access to all 11 journals of the American Society for Microbiology.
Coverage: varies by journal, oldest dated from 1916
ASM Journals Online is the browsable and searchable online collection of all journals published by the American Society for Microbiology. The Society's journals "cover the spectrum of microbiology, from molecular and cellular biology to biomedical research and technology." ASM Journals Online site also includes the Minireview Collection, a collection of ASM minireviews published in the last 12 months.
Analytic reviews within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences
Coverage: 1996 - current
Annual Reviews synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature. Editorial committees comprised of distinguished scholars in the discipline critically review, synthesize, and filter the vast amount of primary research in specific disciplines. Each AR article is written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Each article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary research literature referenced within each topic. These AR publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute for Scientific Information® (ISI).
Citations and abstracts of articles from about 6,000 journals, patents, conference proceedings, books, and reports.
Coverage: 1982 - current
The Biological Sciences Collection combines abstracts and citations from 25 individual databases covering research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this CSA database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
This collection covers core bioengineering concepts, which include the production of biomaterials, histotypic and whole organ tissue cultures, bioprocessing techniques, and the complex system-level fields of bioMEMs and biosensing
Video journal database covering laboratory fundamentals
The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a PubMed-indexed video journal. "General Laboratory Techniques" exhibits how to use standard pieces of laboratory equipment essential in many experiments, as well as how to perform basic laboratory functions. Each video is paired with additional video resources for you to view practical applications of the technique and other complementary skills.
Search all of Ovid health sciences content with most journals not in full text.
Coverage: 1996 - current
This link leads to a default search of the entire Ovid journal collection, including the full-text articles from 65 journal covering nursing, medicine, healthcare, psychology and the biological sciences available to UML users. Ovid searches can be limited to either the full Ovid collection that includes mostly citations for content unavailable to UML users or the UML collection that includes 65 journals with complete full-text coverage.
Access to the complete Chemical Abstracts Service and Medline databases. Registration required before using and popups must be enabled in your browser.
Coverage: CAS 1907 - current & Medline 1950 - current
Over 1,600 engineering reference books covering many scientific topics as well.
Coverage: 1996 - current
Knovel Library content covers 18 industrially important Subject Areas from more than 30 Sci-Tech publishers and professional societies including, McGraw Hill, John Wiley, Elsevier, Springer, Industrial Press, American Institute of Chemical Engineers and American Society of Mechanical Engineers. This data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments on the data.
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.