Skip to main content

Help with ASCE (American Society for Civil Engineers) Research Library

Civil Engineer Research

Off Campus Access

You will need to be logged in to the UML Library to access some of the material in this guide. If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. You may get an additional authentication phone call from Duo. This is routine. 

f prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.

 

Find Your Database

Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.

What is ASCE

ASCE is a database hosted by the American Society of Civil Engineers. 

The ASCE Library provides online access to more than 120,000 full-text documents published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. The Society issues publications of the following types in print and/or electronic forms:

❖ journals and practice periodicals 
❖ conference proceedings 
❖ standards 
❖ manuals and reports on engineering practice 
❖ committee technical reports 
❖ ASCE Press 
❖ engineer, owner, and construction-related contract documents
❖ special publications including- Bridges wall calendar!

 

The ASCE Library contains selected e-books from 1998 to the present, including all in-print ASCE Manuals of Practice and ASCE Press titles. Many books are available by the chapter. All current ASCE Standards are also available, although not by the chapter. New and backlist is added throughout the year.

UMass Lowell Library provides a subscription to ASCE to students, faculty and staff. Navigate to the database via the library home page and you will be prompted to create an account of your own to save searches, receive content alerts and create RSS feeds.