Skip to main content

Help with the ARTFL Project

If you are logged in to your UML email you are logged in to the library. If prompted, enter your UML email credentials. If you still have trouble, clear the cache on your device. Email not working? Troubleshoot from here.

Find Your Database

Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.

logo of artfl project

Founded in 1982 as a result of a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago, the ARTFL Project provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources. Public access databases include ARTFL the Dictionnaires d'autrefois, the Encyclopédie of Diderot and d'Alembert, and the Bibliothèque Bleue de Troyes. In addition, the UMass Lowell library is a subscriber to a large variety of other ARTFL databases, (see list below).

ARTFL Subscription Only Databases

❖ Main Database: ARTFL-FRANTEXT, over 3500 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 12th to the 20th century.
❖ The ARTFL subscriber edition of Les Dictionnaires d'autrefois containing 16 complete dictionaries from the        17th to the 20th centuries.  
❖ French Women Writers, over 100 works by French women authors from the 16th to the 19th century.

Novels of the Nineteenth Century: over 500 major and minor French novels.
Provençal Poetry, 38 collections of texts from the 12th and 13th centuries.
Textes de Français Ancien (TFA), 103 works from the 12th through 15th century.
French Poetry: selected works from middle ages to the 20th century.  
Philosophical works in French from the Renaissance to the 20th century. 
The Journal de Trévoux, ou Mémoires pour l'Histoire des Sciences & des Beaux-Arts. 109 volumes, 1751-         1758.
❖ Pierre Bayle, Dictionnaire historique et critique (5th Edition, 1740).
❖ Louis Moréri, Le Grand dictionnaire historique, ou le Mélange curieux de l'Histoire sacrée et profane, etc.           (1759).
Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database, 1,960 vernacular texts dated prior to 1375, including      Dante,     
Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as many lesser-known texts.
Histories of the French Revolution from 1789 to the 20th century.  
Études critiques du 19ème siècle: French literary and artistic criticism.