Skip to Main Content

Help with American Antiquarian Society Periodicals

Find Your Database

Start at the library home page, and click the Databases tab at left. Click the initial letter of the database you are looking for in the A-Z listing, or browse the titles on the page. Click the name of the database you are looking for.

library homepage with red arrow pointing at databases tab

About the Database

Series 1: American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820

The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 contains a limited data set from the extensive collection at the American Antiquarian Society, the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. The AAS digital collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877.

The database consists of five series, the one described above and the four following.

Series 2

Presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The collection represents over two centuries of print culture, ranging from early works imported by the colonists to later titles published on American soil. The series two is second of the five series created from serials holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society and featuring about 6500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century.  Covers a broad range of topics including agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.


Series 3
Presents over 1,700 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Subjects covered include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion. Subjects include slavery, agriculture, children's literature, education, leisure and hobbies, medicine, religion, science and technology, the trades, and women's literature. 

Series 4

Presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Collection includes the Civil War, plus science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.

More detailed subject matter includes psychiatry, gardening, freed African Americans, temperance, the Irish question, Freemasonry, the U.S. Postal Service, and dentistry. 

Series 5 

Presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.

More detailed subjects include African American freedom, horse racing, crops and animal husbandry, children's literature and education, leisure and hobbies, medical advances, temperance and holiness, trade and commerce, and men’s fashions.

Sample Search Demonstration in AAS Periodicals

This video was created by the library at Franklin Pierce University, so the demo screens will have Franklin Pierce branding but their A-Z database list and AAS landing page are otherwise identical to the ones at UML. Thank you Franklin Pierce University.

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here