Skip to Main Content

Professional Communications - Rattigan

Welcome to the UML Libraries' LibGuide to Professional Communications!

Today, more than ever in the business world, communication and the skills associated with it make the difference in getting hired, promoted, and properly compensated. Everyone has good ideas, but being able to communicate them, garner support for them, and move them forward is the ability that catapults individuals in organizations. Communicating is a learned skill and as a learned skill can be improved and enhanced. The new channels and mediums of communication allow for less time to think and have an expectation of immediacy. This immediacy makes communication challenging unless the basic skills are established making them second nature.

This guide contains links to library resources. Please feel free to call or stop by the library if you have any questions or need any help with your research! You could either speak to me directly or ask any Reference Librarian. My number is listed on the side panel on the right side of this page and the number for the Lydon Library's reference desk is 978-934-3213. We are all here to help you!

UMass Lowell Libraries' Subscription Databases

The UML Libraries spend over a two million dollars per year for access to online subscription databases. Many of these provide full text to books and articles.

To search the online databases for articles:

Go to the Libraries' home page: https://www.uml.edu/library

 

To view the databases organized by subject:

    Click on Research Links in the navigation bar on the left of the page.

    

    Click on Databases in the list on the right of the page.

    Select your subject area from the drop down box under the prompt: Find a database by subject: