Skip to Main Content

NURS.6000: Theoretical Foundations for Advanced Nursing Practice

Research Databases

What is a literature review?

Literature review is a means of placing your research questions in the context of the overall research done within your topic. It helps you avoid reinventing the wheel, and makes it more probable that your study will help solve real-world problems.

Ask yourself, have other researchers asked questions similar to mine and what results did they uncover?  Given what other researchers have discovered, which piece of the research puzzle is missing in this particular topic, and does my proposed research fit in the space?

Use this section to view demos of using each of the relevant research databases to conduct your literature review. Please contact the library if you have questions. Reference Librarian Sara Marks understands your needs and wants to help. You can also book an appointment for hands on assistance.

If you are unable to view, click here.

Qualitative vs. Quantitative Research

If unable to view, click here

CINAHL

CINAHL offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,170 journals are also included. Full text material includes over 770 journals over the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here.

Medline

MEDLINE, created by the National Library of Medicine, contains over 4 million records covering a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. It uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

If unable to view, click here

Ovid

Ovid offers more than 100 core and niche databases to support the breadth of research needs in a wide range of disciplines including clinical medicine, pharmacology and more. The powerful combination of Ovid's rich database implementation with Ovid's advanced search features, natural language processing, sophisticated linking technology, and customizable display options, offer a unique, integrated database solution ideal for all users at your institution.

If you are unable to view, click here.

Full Text Finder and Inter Library Loan

We will get you any book, article, or other item you need for your research. In many cases, the full text of an article will be right in the database. Other times you will see a link for Full text finderFull Text Finder​. Clicking that link will search in all our subscriptions for your article. If we don't have it, you will see an option to request the item for free through Inter Library Loan (free!). Did I mention it's free? Don't pay for these articles through the publishers. We will do it for free. The following demo video will show you how to use it.

If unable to view, click here

If you are unable to view click here.