This is the "Home" page of the "Work Environment" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Work Environment  

Databases and links for all students and faculty in Work Environment
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2016 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/we Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Slides from Library Class

Library Presentation

SFS Information

SciFinder Scholar consists of the complete Chemical Abstracts Service database from 1907- and the complete Medline database, from 1950-. Newest additions include millions of spectra, and records from chemical literature before 1907. UMASS Lowell Libraries provides SciFinder Web access for current students, faculty and staff in the Library, anywhere on campus and at home, provided they have properly registered for an account.
For help on searching SFS web, check out the tutorials provided by the Chemical Abstracts Service, or contact
Margaret Manion, Science and Engineering Librarian.
SciFinder Scholar is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week except for Sunday mornings.  Please remember to read the conditions statement when logging on and abide by the limits on the number of records. Because of heavy use, please remember to log out completely and properly from SFS, otherwise a port will be blocked for up to 20 minutes.

Important Resources

Important Resources:

  • TOXNET
    Free and comprehensive site from the federal government, offering many citations.
  • Knovel  
      
    Provides access and searching for over 900 handbooks in all engineering and science fields.
  • Knovel-Toxicology section
    covers major toxicological information tools.
  • Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
    Best resource for detailed information on toxicology of chemicals.
  • Patty's Toxicology
    Detailed reference information on toxicology for health care professionals.
  • Medline  
      
    This is the same as the PubMed database but will allow you to connect to the actual article if UML subscribes.
  • Compendex
    Best resource for engineering-related questions. Includes biomedical engineering, and practical applications.
  • ScienceDirect
    Full text access to 2000 Elsevier journals, mostly from 1995-, with some going back to 1993.
  • Environmental Index
    Good environmental database, multidisciplinary.
  • GreenFile
    Environmental database covering human impact on the environment.
  • Dissertation Abstract  
      
    Search for dissertations at any school in the USA. We have access to full text of UML & UMA dissertations only.
  • Biological Sciences Database  
      
    Search the entire database or select any subfile. All areas covered, including environmental information and toxicology. This database offers citations and abstracts only. Use 360Link to connect to a journal article.
  • ACS Journals
    Full content of all ACS titles, from vol. 1-.
  • Annual Reviews
    Full content to all of these titles, 1996- which contain excellent comprehensive review articles in all fields of science.
  • Blackwell-Synergy
    Full content access to about 1000 journals from Wiley and Blackwell, beginning 1996- Good science coverage.
  • IRIS--Integrated Risk Information System.
    Excellent free government database from the EPA, allowing you to search for chemicals that you are interested in.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Great general database, loaded with full text articles. Good for basic research.
  • Environmental Health and Toxicology Government Resources
    Page aimed at Scientists and Researchers, explains government sites available.

E-journals

We have made it as easy as possible for you to find out if we have an electronic version of a journal.  When you are in a database, look for the Check 360 Link for Text that you will find after every citation.  This service will automatically check for the presence of full text and if available, will link you directly to the text.

If 360Link says we do not have the journal, you may order it on Interlibrary Loan.  You may do this directly from the 360Link page, by logging into your ILLiad account.  The citation will populate the request form, and ILLiad will know who you are.  Proofread the citation for accuracy and make the request.  ILL requests are delivered electronically to you, usually within 2-3 days.

  • UML E-Journal List  
      
    Current list of all journals available, with links directly to journal issues. Excellent when trying to locate a specific citation.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Margaret Manion
Contact Info
University of Massachusetts Lowell
Lydon Library
rm 301
84 University Avenue
Lowell, MA 01854
Send Email
Subjects:
engineering

SFS Registration

Use this link to set up your own account on SciFinder Scholar.  Please read the instructions on the page regarding the password that you use.  You must set up your account while on campus.

Database searching

Each of our major vendors (Ebsco, ProQuest, CSA) allow you to search as many databases as you wish to with one search statement. Answers are automatically checked for duplicates and the final list has all unique citations.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip