This is the "Info" page of the "Urban Politics and Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Urban Politics and Policy  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/urban_politics_and_policy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Full-Text Reference Books from Literati

Need more background information about Urban Politics and Policy but don't have time to go to the library? UMass Lowell Libraries gives you access to these full-text electronic reference books through Literati. Click here for a short tutorial about what else is available through Literati.

Cover Art
Key Concepts in Urban Studies
Offers concise discussions of concepts ranging from community, neighbourhood, and the city to globalization, the New Urbanism, feminine space, and urban problems.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs
The term urban brings many images to mind—images of crime, poverty, homelessness, pollution, and overcrowding—and it speaks volumes about the prevalent attitudes Americans have toward cities.

Cover Art
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science
A clear and lively introduction to the terminology of political science for students and general readers. The book comprises rigorous definitions and explanations of key terms, including short biographies of the most eminent writers in the discipline - both classical (eg Mill) and modern (eg Hayek).

Cover Art
Dictionary of Politics and Government
Terms covering world politics, international relations, local and national government and the European Union.

 

Want to Further Explore Your Topic? Create a Mind Map!

 

Looking for eBooks about Urban Politics and Policy? Search here!

 

Looking for articles about Urban Politics and Policy? Search here!

Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

General Concepts

  • Culture: Topic Page
    In anthropology, the integrated system of socially acquired values, beliefs, and rules of conduct which delimit the range of accepted behaviors in any given society. Cultural differences distinguish societies from one another. MORE
  • Diversity: Topic Page
    In broad definition terms and the social context, the term diversity refers to the presence in one population of a wide variety of cultures, languages, physical features, socio-economic backgrounds, opinions, religious beliefs, sexuality and gender identity. MORE
  • Urban Politics and Suburban Politics
    From Key Concepts in Urban Studies Before the 1960s, city governments were powerful. In addition to people making money from control over the resources of capital and land, control of the bureaucracies and decision-making power of government was a separate means of acquiring wealth. MORE
  • Urbanization
    From Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs Urbanization has long been recognized as a major theme in the history of the United States. MORE

Urban Politics Issues

  • City planning: Topic Page
    Process of planning for the improvement of urban centers in order to provide healthy and safe living conditions, efficient transport and communication, adequate public facilities, and aesthetic surroundings. MORE
  • Community safety
    From Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management Community safety focuses on measures to reduce crime and anti-social behaviour, as well as the fear of crime and environmental crime in high-crime, disadvantaged neighbourhoods. MORE
  • Health: Topic Page
    Term to define state of well-being or absence of illness. Health may be used by people to mean different things, and could be said to mean the ‘absence of significant illness’. It is a term that is used when considering how to improve people's lives and live longer. MORE
  • Town planning: Topic Page
    The design of buildings or groups of buildings in a physical and social context, concentrating on the relationship between various buildings and their environment, as well as on their uses. MORE
  • Trade: Topic Page
    Traffic in goods. Conducted by gift, barter, or sale, trade is one of the most widespread of all social institutions. MORE
  • Zoning: Topic Page
    Legislative regulations by which a municipal government seeks to control the use of buildings and land within the municipality. MORE
 

What's a Topic Page?


Topic Pages are a scholarly version of the articles that you find on Wikipedia. The difference is that Topic Pages only include information that's scholarly, citable and verified so you don't have to spend time determining if it is appropriate for use in your academic paper. Literati has nearly 10,000 topic pages so the odds are that you can find one that addresses your topic. Explore the topics on this LibGuide page or use this Literati search box to find others:


Urban Political Power

  • City Government
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia Political administration of urban areas. MORE
  • Mayor: Topic Page
    Title of the head of urban (city or town) administration. MORE
  • Council
    From Dictionary of Politics and Government A group of representatives elected to run an area of a country. Also called local council. MORE
  • Mayor-Council Government
    From Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs Diversity is a hallmark of American politics, and nowhere is this more evident than in the ways the nation governs itself locally. There are some 80,000 units of local government in the United States, few of which are exactly alike. MORE
  • Commission Government
    From Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs The commission form of municipal government was an early-twentieth-century invention—born of necessity, promoted with vigor, and, at least briefly, promising better things to come. MORE
  • Council-Manager Government
    From Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs The council-manager plan of government, with the mayor-council and commission forms, is a principal structure for organizing a municipality. Counties and special districts are often organized according to similar plans. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip