This is the "Info" page of the "Thoreau in Our Time" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Thoreau in Our Time  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/thoreau_in_our_time Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Full-Text Reference Books from Literati

Need more background information about Henry David Thoreau but don't have time to go to the library? UMass Lowell Libraries gives you access to these full-text electronic reference books through Literati. Click here for a short tutorial about what else is available through Literati.

Cover Art
Slavery in the United States: A Social, Political, and Historical Encyclopedia
A comprehensive, contextual presentation of all aspects—social, political, and economic—of slavery in the United States, from the first colonization through Reconstruction.

Cover Art
The Reader's Companion to American History
Offers entries covering the critical events, issues and individuals that have shaped American History.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Nationalism: Leaders, Movements, and Concepts
Captures the aims and scope of nationalism. This volume covers leaders, movements, and concepts.

Cover Art
The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
An authoritative and international survey of world literature in English. The Guide covers everything from Old English to Contemporary Writing from all over the English-speaking world. It covers poems, novels, literary journals and plays.

 

Want to Further Explore Your Topic? Create a Mind Map!

 

Looking for eBooks about Henry David Thoreau? Search here!

 

Looking for articles about Henry David Thoreau? Search here!

Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

General Information

Thoreau's Writing

  • Civil Disobedience, On the Duty of
    From The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English An essay by Henry David Thoreau, originally published as Resistance to Civil Government in 1849 and given its familiar title when it appeared in a posthumous collection of essays, A Yankee in Canada, with Anti-Slavery and Reform Papers (1866). MORE
  • Walden
    From The Dictionary of Alternatives: The US writer Henry David Thoreau’s book Walden; or, Life in the Woods (1854) is a massively influential work which could be taken both as a manifesto for simple living and as a condemnation of property owning and competitive society. MORE
  • Week on the Concord and Merrimack Rivers, A
    From The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English An account by Henry David Thoreau, published in 1849, of a boat trip to the White Mountains of New Hampshire, taken in 1839 with his brother John. MORE

Philosophies

  • Anarchism: Topic Page
    Political philosophy that society should have no government, laws, police, or other authority, but should be a free association of all its members. MORE
  • Individualism and Life Writing
    From Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms The histories of life writing and individualism in Western culture have moved in parallel. The term “individualism”, like the term “autobiography”, was first used in France. MORE
 

What's a Topic Page?


Topic Pages are a scholarly version of the articles that you find on Wikipedia. The difference is that Topic Pages only include information that's scholarly, citable and verified so you don't have to spend time determining if it is appropriate for use in your academic paper. Literati has nearly 10,000 topic pages so the odds are that you can find one that addresses your topic. Explore the topics on this LibGuide page or use this Literati search box to find others:


Thoreau and Current Issues

  • Climate Change: Topic Page
    Climate change, as commonly used today, refers to long-term changes in global climate patterns as a result of anthropogenic (human-induced) interference. MORE
  • Environmentalism: Topic Page
    Movement to protect the quality and continuity of life through conservation of natural resources, prevention of pollution, and control of land use. MORE
  • Social Justice: Topic Page
    A standard used to assess the fairness of a society. Justice is a central moral standard that requires the fair and impartial treatment of all. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip