Databases: Polymer Science

image polymers


 

Polymer Resources

 

Polymer Information and Resources

 

intro text polymer

Welcome to Polymer Science

A database is a collection of information on a website organized so you can conduct a search (by keyword, title, author, etc). The UML Library provides access to a multitude of databases for students. These databases draw from sources that include journal articles, books, conference papers, maps, government reports, etc.
Databases are the core of scholarship and indispensible to research.  In particular you can find peer-reviewed articles from academic journals (for example, Public Health). To clarify, a database can be used to search for journals, which contain peer-reviewed articles, vital to references when writing a thesis or doing research.
Some databases provide full-text and some don't.  If the database you're searching doesn't include full-text, use Interlibrary Loan. You will find instructions here. 

Also use Interlibrary Loan if the UML Libraries doesn't own the item you need.

Chemistry Databases

  • Scifinder Scholar Best database for all chemists.  Every user must have their own account.  See information on SFS below.
  • MedlineAvailable via SciFinder Scholar, MEDLINEplus, and EbscoHost, as well as many free commercial sites.

SciFinder Scholar Information

SciFinder Scholar consists of the complete Chemical Abstracts Service database from 1907- and the complete Medline database, from 1950-. Newest additions include millions of spectra, and records from chemical literature before 1907. UMASS Lowell Libraries provides SciFinder Web access for current students, faculty and staff in the Library, anywhere on campus and at home, provided they have properly registered for an account.
For help on searching SFS web, check out the tutorials provided by the Chemical Abstracts Service, or contact
Margaret Manion, Science and Engineering Librarian.
SciFinder Scholar is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week except for Sunday mornings.  Please remember to read the conditions statement when logging on and abide by the limits on the number of records. Because of heavy use, please remember to log out completely and properly from SFS, otherwise a port will be blocked for up to 20 minutes.