This is the "Info" page of the "Politics of Repression and Dissent" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Politics of Repression and Dissent  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/politics_of_repression_and_dissent Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Full-Text Reference Books from Literati

Need more background information about Politics of Repression and Dissent but don't have time to go to the library? UMass Lowell Libraries gives you access to these full-text electronic reference books through Literati. Click here for a short tutorial about what else is available through Literati.

Cover Art
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science
A clear and lively introduction to the terminology of political science for students and general readers. The book comprises rigorous definitions and explanations of key terms, including short biographies of the most eminent writers in the discipline - both classical (eg Mill) and modern (eg Hayek).

Cover Art
Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
Covers every aspect of political thought, defining concepts and ideologies, surveying the arguments on issues, giving capsule histories of political institutions, and summarizing the thought of major political theorists.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Politics and Government
Terms covering world politics, international relations, local and national government and the European Union.

 

Want to Further Explore Your Topic? Create a Mind Map!

 

Looking for eBooks about Politics of Repression and Dissent? Search here!

 

Looking for articles about Politics of Repression and Dissent? Search here!

Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

Political Dissent

  • Non-Violent Resistance
    From Freedom Facts and Firsts: 400 Years of the African American Civil Rights Experience The tactic of non-violent resistance was not a novel idea at the time of the modern Civil Rights Movement. American colonists employed it during the Revolution when they boycotted British imports and offered resistance to taxation without representation. A modus operandi of social change that employs strategies such as strikes, sit-ins, boycotts, and civil disobedience, non-violent resistance is a theory that was developed by Henry David Thoreau in his 1849 essay, Civil Disobedience, in which he argued that it was morally justifiable to peacefully resist unjust laws. MORE
  • Non-violent Direct Action
    From International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics: Non-violent direct action (NVDA) by environmentalists includes the kind of civil disobedience where arrests are anticipated and even desirable, but it is also broader. MORE
  • Boycott
    From Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor: A boycott occurs when a supporter of organized labor refuses to purchase a product or service from a concern deemed unfair to its employees. MORE
  • General strike: Topic Page
    Sympathetic cessation of work by a majority of the workers in all industries of a locality or nation. Such a stoppage is economic if it is for the purpose of redressing some grievance or pressing upon the employer a series of economic demands. It is political if called for the purpose of wresting some concession from the government or if the goal is the overthrow of the existing government. The political strike has been advocated by the syndicalists and to a certain extent by anarchistic movements. MORE
  • Satyagraha
    From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia: Philosophy of nonviolent protest, or passive resistance. Mohandas K. Gandhi introduced it in South Africa (1906) and, from 1917, developed it in India in the period leading up to independence from Britain. MORE

Political Repression

 

What's a Topic Page?


Topic Pages are a scholarly version of the articles that you find on Wikipedia. The difference is that Topic Pages only include information that's scholarly, citable and verified so you don't have to spend time determining if it is appropriate for use in your academic paper. Literati has nearly 10,000 topic pages so the odds are that you can find one that addresses your topic. Explore the topics on this LibGuide page or use this Literati search box to find others:


Political Protestors & Protests

  • Mohandas "Mahatma" Gandhi (1869 - 1948): Topic Page
    1869–1948, Indian political and spiritual leader, b. Porbandar. MORE
  • Nelson Mandela (1918 - ): Topic Page
    1918–, South African statesman; winner of the Nobel peace prize. MORE
  • Anti-Vietnam War Movement: Topic Page
    Domestic and international reaction (1965–73) in opposition to U.S. policy during the Vietnam War; During the four years following passage of the Tonkin Gulf resolution (Aug., 1964), which authorized U.S. military action in Southeast Asia, the American air war intensified and troop levels climbed to over 500,000.MORE
  • Civil Rights Movement: Topic Page
    US movement especially active during the 1950s and 60s that aimed to end segregation and discrimination against blacks, as well as affirm their constitutional rights and improve their status in society. MORE
  • NAACP Silent Protest Parade (1917)
    From Freedom Facts and Firsts: 400 Years of the African American Civil Rights Experience: The NAACP's Silent Protest Parade, also known as the Silent March, was held on 5th Avenue in New York City on Saturday, July 28, 1917, and was spurred by violence toward African Americans and race riots and outages in Waco, Texas; Memphis, Tennessee; and East St. Louis, Illinois. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip