This is the "Info" page of the "Police Innovations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Police Innovations  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/police_innovations Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Full-Text Reference Books from Literati

Need more background information about Police Innovations but don't have time to go to the library? UMass Lowell Libraries gives you access to these full-text electronic reference books through Literati. Click here for a short tutorial about what else is available through Literati.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Policing - Tim Newburn and Peter Neyroud
Consists of entries, including summary definition, main text and key texts and sources, contributed by leading academic and practitioners in policing.

Cover Art
World of Criminal Justice, Gale - Shirelle Phelps
The individual entries in this ready-reference source explain in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice. Brief biographical profiles of the people who have made a significant and lasting impact on the field of criminal justice and society in general are included. Photographs, statistical charts, and graphs aid the reader in understanding the topics and people covered in the reference work.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management - Rob Canton and David Hancock
Contemporary probation practice is developing rapidly and is become increasingly professionalized. Probation officers are typically described now as offender managers, and the creation of NOMS (National Offender Management Service) has broadened the remit of the Probation Service. As well as bringing an increased emphasis on skills and qualifications it has also introduced a new set of ideas and concepts into the established probation lexicon - including institutional, legal, political and theoretical terms of its own as well as importing concepts from the disciplines of sociology, criminology and psychology.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Law
Provides clear, concise and fully up-to-date information on all aspects of civil, criminal and commercial law. Examples and encyclopedic comments help to explain complex terms from British, European and US legal procedure.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment - Yvonne Jewkes and Jamie Bennett
The essential source of reference for the increasing number of people studying in, working in prisons and working with prisoners.

 

Want to Further Explore Your Topic? Create a Mind Map!

 

Looking for eBooks about Police Innovations? Search here!

 

Looking for articles about Police Innovations? Search here!

Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

General Terms

  • Arrest: Topic Page
    In law, seizure and detention of a person, either to bring him before a court body or official, or to otherwise secure the administration of the law. A person may be arrested for an alleged violation of civil or criminal law. MORE
  • Jails
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale
    A jail is a place of confinement administered by a local government agency. Jails are used to hold persons for short periods of time. A person who is arrested will be held in jail until an arraignment hearing is held. MORE
  • Law: Topic Page
    Rules of conduct of any organized society, however simple or small, that are enforced by threat of punishment if they are violated. MORE
  • Offender
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale The term, offender, is commonly used in state and federal statutes to denote persons who have been implicated in the commission of a crime and may include persons who have been found guilty of a felony, a misdemeanor, or a petty offense. MORE
  • Parole: Topic Page
    Parole is a process that allows a prisoner to be released from prison to experience increased freedom, while remaining under limited supervision. MORE
  • Police Database: Topic Page
    The Police National Computer is a national information system available to the police, criminal justice agencies and a variety of other non-policing organizations. It holds comprehensive details of people, vehicles, crimes and property on its database which can be electronically accessed all day, every day. MORE
  • Police Defensive Tactics Training in the United States
    From Martial Arts of the World: An Encyclopedia of History and Innovation Defensive tactics is a term used by many U.S. police departments to describe the arrest and control training provided to officers. MORE
  • Police: Topic Page
    The body of men and women employed by the government of a country to keep order, enforce the law, prevent crime, etc. MORE
  • Policing and Society
    From Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict This article examines policing as a formal social control institution in society. It explores the history of and development of policing and identifies some of the major phases in the policing movement. Attention is given to the role of policing as a traditionally reactive societal force; reference is also made for viewing police as a proactive element that not merely reacts to crime but actively seeks to reduce crime causing conditions. MORE
  • Probation
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale Probation is “releasing convicted offenders into the community under a conditional suspended sentence, avoiding imprisonment for those offenders showing good behavior under the supervision of a probation officer.” This practice is based on the assumption that most offenders are not dangerous and will respond well to treatment. In fact, the average probationer is a first time and/or non-violent offender who, it is believed, will be best served by remaining in the community while serving out a sentence. MORE
  • Rehabilitation
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale In criminal justice, rehabilitation is the goal of improving offenders’ educational, vocational, psychological, and physical welfare for the purpose of changing their behavior. MORE
 

What's a Topic Page?


Topic Pages are a scholarly version of the articles that you find on Wikipedia. The difference is that Topic Pages only include information that's scholarly, citable and verified so you don't have to spend time determining if it is appropriate for use in your academic paper. Literati has nearly 10,000 topic pages so the odds are that you can find one that addresses your topic. Explore the topics on this LibGuide page or use this Literati search box to find others:


Community Policing

  • Partnership Working
    From Dictionary of Youth Justice Partnership working involves collaboration between agencies in the funding, management and/or delivery of services. Also described as ‘multi-agency’ or ‘interagency’ working, partnerships may include representatives of relevant agencies or organizations across the statutory, voluntary and commercial sectors as well as members of local communities. MORE
  • Community safety
    From Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management Community safety focuses on measures to reduce crime and anti-social behaviour, as well as the fear of crime and environmental crime in high-crime, disadvantaged neighbourhoods. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip