This is the "Info" page of the "Parties and Interest Groups" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Parties and Interest Groups  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/parties_and_interest_groups Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Full-Text Reference Books from Literati

Need more background information about Parties and Interest Groups but don't have time to go to the library? UMass Lowell Libraries gives you access to these full-text electronic reference books through Literati. Click here for a short tutorial about what else is available through Literati.

Cover Art
The Handbook of Political Sociology: States, Civil Societies, and Globalization
This handbook provides the first complete survey of the vibrant field of political sociology.

Cover Art
Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
Covers every aspect of political thought, defining concepts and ideologies, surveying the arguments on issues, giving capsule histories of political institutions, and summarizing the thought of major political theorists.

Cover Art
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science
A clear and lively introduction to the terminology of political science for students and general readers. The book comprises rigorous definitions and explanations of key terms, including short biographies of the most eminent writers in the discipline - both classical (eg Mill) and modern (eg Hayek).

Cover Art
Dictionary of Politics and Government
Terms covering world politics, international relations, local and national government and the European Union.

Cover Art
The Great American History Fact-Finder
Covers a wide spectrum of American history and culture, including political events, military history, sports, arts, entertainment, landmark legislation, and business. The book's concise entries, arranged from A to Z, bring the United States' past into sharp focus while also offering just plain useful facts about the well known and not so well known

 

Want to Further Explore Your Topic? Create a Mind Map!

 

Looking for eBooks about Parties and Interest Groups? Search here!

 

Looking for articles about Parties and Interest Groups? Search here!

Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

Party Systems

  • Democratic Party: Topic Page
    American political party; the oldest continuous political party in the United States. Origins in Jeffersonian DemocracyWhen political alignments first emerged in George Washington's administration, opposing factions were led by Alexander Hamilton and Thomas Jefferson. MORE
  • Federalist party: Topic Page
    In U.S. history, the political faction that favored a strong federal government. Origins and MembersIn the later years of the Articles of Confederation there was much agitation for a stronger federal union, which was crowned with success when the Constitutional Convention drew up the Constitution of the United States. MORE
  • Free-Soil Party: Topic Page
    In U.S. history, political party that came into existence in 1847–48 chiefly because of rising opposition to the extension of slavery into any of the territories newly acquired from Mexico. MORE
  • Green Party: Topic Page
    Any of the political parties established in various countries to oppose the destructive environmental effects of many modern technologies and the economic systems and institutions that drive them. Many Green parties also advocate pacifism and strongly support human rights; the parties are typically grassroots leftist in their political orientation. MORE
  • Populist Party: Topic Page
    In U.S. history, political party formed primarily to express the agrarian protest of the late 19th cent. In some states the party was known as the People's party. Formation of the PartyDuring the Panic of 1873 agricultural prices in the United States began to decline. MORE
  • Republican Party: Topic Page
    American political party. Origins and Early YearsThe name was first used by Thomas Jefferson's party, later called the Democratic Republican party or, simply, the Democratic party. MORE
  • Socialist Party: Topic Page
    In U.S. history, political party formed to promote public control of the means of production and distribution. In 1898 the Social Democratic party was formed by a group led by Eugene V. Debs and Victor Berger. MORE
  • Whig Party: Topic Page
    One of the two major political parties of the United States in the second quarter of the 19th cent. OriginsAs a party it did not exist before 1834, but its nucleus was formed in 1824 when the adherents of John Quincy Adams and Henry Clay joined forces against Andrew Jackson. MORE

General Terms

  • Law: Topic Page
    Rules of conduct of any organized society, however simple or small, that are enforced by threat of punishment if they are violated. MORE
 

What's a Topic Page?


Topic Pages are a scholarly version of the articles that you find on Wikipedia. The difference is that Topic Pages only include information that's scholarly, citable and verified so you don't have to spend time determining if it is appropriate for use in your academic paper. Literati has nearly 10,000 topic pages so the odds are that you can find one that addresses your topic. Explore the topics on this LibGuide page or use this Literati search box to find others:


Interest Groups

  • Interest Groups
    From Public Opinion and Polling Around the World: A Historical Encyclopedia “Interest groups (also known as factions, organized interests, pressure groups, and special interests) are natural phenomena in a democratic regime—that is, individuals will band together to protect their interests” (Cigler and Loomis 1998, p. 2). Interest groups emerged and flourished because of a continuing interest in national policy and legislation. MORE
  • Lobbying: Topic Page
    Practice and profession of influencing governmental decisions, carried out by agents who present the concerns of special interests to legislators and administrators. MORE
  • Pressure Group: Topic Page
    Body, organized or unorganized, that actively seeks to promote its particular interests within a society by exerting pressure on public officials and agencies. Pressure groups direct their efforts toward influencing legislative and executive branches of government, political parties, and sometimes general public opinion. MORE
  • Group Theory
    From The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science The term has various connotations dependent on the importance one attaches to the activity of groups in politics. The theoretical level of treatment also varies greatly. Bentley, whom some see as the father of group theory, believed all political phenomena could be interpreted in terms of group interaction. At the other end of the spectrum are largely empirical studies of pressure groups. MORE
  • Lobbying Disclosure Act of 1995
    From Political Corruption in America: An Encyclopedia of Scandals, Power & Greed Congressional enactment, 1 January 1996, that was passed “to provide for the disclosure of lobbying activities to influence the Federal Government, and for other purposes.” Its intent was to close loopholes that had existed in the lobbying law up until that time, the Federal Regulation of Lobbying Act, which allowed certain categories of lobbyists to avoid registering and for ineffective and inconsistent reporting of those who did register. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip