America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature for 1,700 journals covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. CLIO Notes is included in this resource that contains overviews of historical periods and detailed chronologies for major events and issues.
The American Antiquarian Society is both a learned society and a major independent research library. The AAS library today houses the largest and most accessible collection of works related to all aspects of American history.
ARTstor is a digital library of over 1.8 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Any UML user can create an account and save collections. Instructor privileges allow collections to be shared by a class or the entire UML community. Instructors can also add their own images to their collections.
The basic subscription provides access to the full text of selected publications plus abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, committee hearings, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources.
Handbook of Latin American Studies is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in the disciplines of Anthropology (including Archaeology, Ethnohistory and Ethnology), Art, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, History, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology. Starting with Volume 54, the Handbook also includes a section on Electronic Resources for Latin American studies. In addition, some of the earlier volumes included other disciplines such as Cartography, Film, Folklore, Law, and so forth.
Historical Abstracts includes 75-120 word abstracts to journal articles and citations to books and dissertations. Every year over 20,000 new entries are added from over 1,700 journal titles published worldwide. Over 600,000 entries currently available. The Web version is updated monthly. CLIO Notes is included in this resource that contains overviews of historical periods and detailed chronologies for major events and issues.
Annual Reviews synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Editorial committees comprised of distinguished scholars in the discipline critically review, synthesize, and filter the vast amount of primary research in specific disciplines. Each AR article is written by authors who are recognized experts in the field. Each article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary research literature referenced within each topic. These AR publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Institute for Scientific Information® (ISI).
Arts & Science Collections I - IV offering over 500 full-text journals.
Coverage: 1800s - 1 to 5 years before current month (varies by title)
UML has access to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I through IV. These collections combine to offer 509 full-text academic journal titles from the first issues until one to five years before the current month. Most of these titles include decades worth of issues, some dating back to the nineteenth century. Topics covered branch across all aspects of the humanities including literature, history, folklore, music, mathematics, economics, philosophy, anthropology, sociology, and much, much more.
Searching the Library's History Databases
If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here