This is the "Home" page of the "Libguides 2.0 Migration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Libguides 2.0 Migration  

Last Updated: Jul 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/migration Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Read through the guide: http://support.springshare.com/libguides/migration

This checklist is a condensed list of the info on the “LibGuides v1 Site Clean Up / Prep” page, please, refer to

that page for more details. ☺ To access the Help Guides you must be logged into LibApps. Be sure to check

out the online training sessions we are offering on migration at http://calendar.springshare.com/.

1. Review Reports in LibGuides v1

Reports on potentially “stale / unnecessary content”:

" Users: No Guides report

" Users: Inactive report

" Guides: Stale Content

o Delete any guides that can be removed.

o Combine any that can be consolidated with another guide. Delete the extra guides.

o Alternately, run the report for the timeframe you’d like, copy the lines, paste them into Excel,

sort by guide owner, and assign those owners the task of reviewing the guides.

" Guides: Low Hits

o Delete any guides that can be removed.

o Consolidate any that can be consolidated with another guide.

o Alternately, run the report for the hit count you’d like, copy the lines, paste them into Excel, sort

by guide owner, and assign those owners the task of reviewing the guides.

" Groups report (LibGuides CMS Only)

" Subjects report

" Surveys report (LibGuides CMS Only)

o Delete any surveys that can be removed. (You may want to download the responses first.)

o Alternately, run the report for the timeframe you’d like, copy the lines, paste them into Excel,

sort by survey owner, and assign those owners the task of reviewing the surveys.

" ER Courses

Select links to import as Database Assets

" Select Databases from your A-Z Database Guide (if you have one)

o Use the “select all” link at the top to choose all links in this guide.

o If you have links other than your database links in this guide, go through and uncheck the links

that are not databases.

o Remember to Save!

Migration Checklist for Admins:

Cleaning Up LibGuides v1

" Select Databases from Other Guides

o If you don’t have a master A-Z Database guide, then you’ll need to go through each guide and

select the databases from the available links.

o Or, if you have an A-Z Database master list, but there are a few things in guides that aren’t on

the master guide, and you want them migrated to LibGuides v2 as Database Assets, go through

the other guides and check off those links.

o Do not select a database more than once – once is enough. ☺

o Remember to Save!

Map links that match your Database Assets

Remember to be patient as this report loads – it may take a while, depending on the number of links you

selected in the previous section and the amount of content in your LibGuides v1 site!

" Review the links in that report.

" Select the links you want to map and process them.

Boxes not being migrated

Please be patient this report takes a while to load – based on the content in your LibGuides v1 site!

* This is a great time to download / use the Excel file: Chart for Tracking Post-Migration Changes

" Review these box types and either replace with other options or choose to leave as-is / not replace.

" Events

" Delicious

" User Submitted Links

" Feedback

" Surveys Boxes:

o Note which surveys are being used in your guides.

o Copy the lines of this report, paste them into Excel, and save it for post-migration work

(replacing surveys / survey boxes in LibGuides v2).

" Table of Contents Boxes:

o Copy the lines of this report, paste them into Excel, and save it for post-migration work

(changing these guides to use Side Nav instead of Tabbed Nav).

" LibAnswers Boxes:

o See which LibAnswers box options you really use: the search, the question form, and/or

displaying questions.

o Plan on adding new Media / Widget Assets to your LibGuides v2 system for a LibAnswers

search and a LibAnswers question form, so everyone can reuse those assets in their guides.

o Copy the lines of this report, paste them into Excel, and save it for post-migration work

(mapping to those search / question form widgets; getting widget code from LibAnswers and

adding question lists / individual questions to your guides).

2. Double Check: Weed Guides from Guide Index Screen

Just in case the reports above didn’t catch these things, go to your Guide Index screen and go through these

review steps:

" Browse through the list – delete unnecessary “test” or “practice” guides.

" Filter: Guide Status = Unpublished

" Why is the guide unpublished? " Can it be deleted?

" Filter: Guide Status = Private

" Why is the guide private? " Can it be deleted?

3. Review Link Checker Report

There may be some “false positives” in the report. Sadly, there’s nothing we can do about that on our end. This

FAQ explains more: http://guidefaq.com/a.php?qid=22116

" Go through the report for your guides.

o Update links that can be updated

o Delete / replace links that can’t be updated

" Assign the same task to other guide owners / Go through the report for all guides.

o Update links that can be updated

o Delete / replace links that can’t be updated

4. Review Images (All Users)

We all have ‘emthose images we’re not using that we just haven’t gotten around to deleting from our Image

Manager Libraries. (*sigh* A certain Springy has 973 images in her librarycan’t imagine they’re all still being

used!) Well, now’s the time to do something about it!

" Delete images that you know are not being used in your system.

" Review images to see if you have multiples of the same image. Delete any you can delete.

LibGuides CMS users:

" Make note of images you’d like to upload to the “Shared” folder in LibGuides v2.

" Upload those images to the Shared Images area in LibGuides v2.

5. Further Review of Subjects, Groups, and E-Reserves

You went through a bunch of this in step 1but is there more you can remove / consolidate?

" Go to the Subject Categories area and review the remaining list. Remove / consolidate further.

" Go to the Groups area and review the remaining list. Remove / consolidate further.

" Go to the E-Reserves area and see if there are other courses you can remove.

" Also review the E-Reserves area for any content items you can remove.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip