This is the "Info" page of the "Issues in Police Administration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Issues in Police Administration  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/issues_in_police_administration Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Full-Text Reference Books from Literati

Need more background information about Issues in Police Administration but don't have time to go to the library? UMass Lowell Libraries gives you access to these full-text electronic reference books through Literati. Click here for a short tutorial about what else is available through Literati.

Cover Art
World of Criminal Justice, Gale - Shirelle Phelps
The individual entries in this ready-reference source explain in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice. Brief biographical profiles of the people who have made a significant and lasting impact on the field of criminal justice and society in general are included. Photographs, statistical charts, and graphs aid the reader in understanding the topics and people covered in the reference work.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Policing - Tim Newburn and Peter Neyroud
Consists of entries, including summary definition, main text and key texts and sources, contributed by leading academic and practitioners in policing.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Law
Provides clear, concise and fully up-to-date information on all aspects of civil, criminal and commercial law. Examples and encyclopedic comments help to explain complex terms from British, European and US legal procedure.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict
Provides crucial and contemporary information about antagonism and reconciliation within both the public and private realms.

 

Want to Further Explore Your Topic? Create a Mind Map!

 

Looking for eBooks about Issues in Police Administration? Search here!

 

Looking for articles about Issues in Police Administration? Search here!

Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

General Terms and Concepts

  • Law: Topic Page
    Rules of conduct of any organized society, however simple or small, that are enforced by threat of punishment if they are violated. MORE
  • Police: Topic Page
    The body of men and women employed by the government of a country to keep order, enforce the law, prevent crime, etc. MORE
  • Policing and Society
    From Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict This article examines policing as a formal social control institution in society. It explores the history of and development of policing and identifies some of the major phases in the policing movement. Attention is given to the role of policing as a traditionally reactive societal force; reference is also made for viewing police as a proactive element that not merely reacts to crime but actively seeks to reduce crime causing conditions. MORE
  • Police Shootings
    From Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and the Law
    Technically speaking, police shootings may refer to the justifiable homicide of felons by police or the murder of police officers by felons. MORE
  • Police Brutality
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale The term, police brutality, refers to all acts of unjustified cruelty inflicted by police on others. It may include the use of abusive language and physical violence which exceeds a justifiable response to a present threat. Police officers use verbal and physical force in their efforts to contain potentially explosive situations, maintain civic order, and apprehend individuals who are breaking the law. MORE
  • Corruption (Police)
    From Dictionary of Policing Police corruption generally refers to officers who do something against their duty, or who do not do something, in return for some gain or promise, though it may also refer more broadly to police abuse of power. MORE
  • Police Ethics
    From Encyclopedia of Ethics Lawbreakers (and sometimes the innocent) are apprehended, tried, and incarcerated. The corresponding social INSTITUTIONS—police, courts, and corrections constitute the domain of criminal justice. MORE
  • Surveillance
    From The Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies The process of surveillance involves the monitoring and collection of information about subject populations with an eye to the supervision and regulation of activities. Thus the idea of surveillance refers to the collection, storage and retrieval of information as well as to the direct supervision of activities and the use of information to monitor subject populations. MORE

Police Administration

  • Accountability and Governance
    From Dictionary of Policing There are two distinct forms of accountability within writing on policing and the police. The first is policy accountability – the degree of influence exercised by external democratic bodies over police organizational policies concerned with overall goals, resource allocation and policing styles. The second is individual accountability – the extent to which, and the ways in which, individual police officers are held to account for their behaviour as they go about their day-to-day activities (Reiner 1995). MORE
  • Police Foundation
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale The Police Foundation is an independent organization that conducts research on policing and offers technical assistance to police departments. Founded in 1970 by the Ford Foundation, the Police Foundation conducted research which questioned traditional models of law enforcement and to the advocacy of community policing techniques. MORE
  • Police and Police Departments
    From Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs The development of modern police forces in American cities exemplifies the enhancement and growing complexity of municipal authority. At the same time, it reveals a shift in the basis of community order from a general consensus on moral and religious rules to reliance on a criminal justice system—of which the police force is only a part—to control an environment viewed by many urbanites as inherently deviant and contentious. MORE
 

What's a Topic Page?


Topic Pages are a scholarly version of the articles that you find on Wikipedia. The difference is that Topic Pages only include information that's scholarly, citable and verified so you don't have to spend time determining if it is appropriate for use in your academic paper. Literati has nearly 10,000 topic pages so the odds are that you can find one that addresses your topic. Explore the topics on this LibGuide page or use this Literati search box to find others:


Management & Training

  • Collective Bargaining
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia In labor relations, procedure whereby an employer or employers agree to discuss the conditions of work by bargaining with representatives of the employees, usually a labor union. Its purpose may be either a discussion of the terms and conditions of employment (wages, work hours, job safety, or job security) or a consideration of the collective relations between both sides (the right to organize workers, recognition of a union, or a guarantee of no reprisals against the workers if a strike has occurred). MORE
  • Peace Officer Standards and Training
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) boards and commission oversee the licensing of law enforcement officers in the United States. These POST boards are created by state statutes and are responsible for the licensing of hundreds of thousands of police officers. MORE
  • Police Defensive Tactics Training in the United States
    From Martial Arts of the World: An Encyclopedia of History and Innovation Defensive tactics is a term used by many U.S. police departments to describe the arrest and control training provided to officers. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip