This is the "Info" page of the "Introduction to Comparative Political Systems" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Introduction to Comparative Political Systems  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/introduction_to_comparative_political_systems Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Full-Text Reference Books from Literati

Need more background information about Comparative Political Systems but don't have time to go to the library? UMass Lowell Libraries gives you access to these full-text electronic reference books through Literati. Click here for a short tutorial about what else is available through Literati.

Cover Art
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science
A clear and lively introduction to the terminology of political science for students and general readers. The book comprises rigorous definitions and explanations of key terms, including short biographies of the most eminent writers in the discipline - both classical (eg Mill) and modern (eg Hayek).

Cover Art
Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
Covers every aspect of political thought, defining concepts and ideologies, surveying the arguments on issues, giving capsule histories of political institutions, and summarizing the thought of major political theorists.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Politics and Government
Terms covering world politics, international relations, local and national government and the European Union.

Cover Art
Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations - Cathal J. Nolan
Primarily focused on the rise of the Great Powers and the course of world civilizations, their formative wars and diplomatic, political and economic relations. But a serious effort is made to cover all of the smaller and less powerful regions and their local history, along with how progressive inclusion into the modern state system affected them.

 

Want to Further Explore Your Topic? Create a Mind Map!

 

Looking for eBooks about Comparative Political Systems? Search here!

 

Looking for articles about Comparative Political Systems? Search here!

Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

General Terms and Concepts

  • Anarchism: Topic Page
    Political philosophy that society should have no government, laws, police, or other authority, but should be a free association of all its members. MORE
  • Capitalism: Topic Page
    Economic system based on private ownership of the means of production, in which personal profit can be acquired through investment of capital and employment of labor. MORE
  • Dictatorship: Topic Page
    Term or office of an absolute ruler, overriding the constitution. MORE
  • Divine Right of Kings: Topic Page
    Christian political doctrine that hereditary monarchy is the system approved by God, hereditary right cannot be forfeited, monarchs are accountable to God alone for their actions, and rebellion against the lawful sovereign is therefore blasphemous. MORE
  • Electoral College: Topic Page
    In U.S. government, the body of electors that chooses the president and vice president. MORE
  • Law: Topic Page
    Rules of conduct of any organized society, however simple or small, that are enforced by threat of punishment if they are violated. MORE
  • Liberalism
    From Encyclopedia of American Studies
    Liberalism, both as an ideology and as a set of policies, has had shifting, and often conflicting, meanings. Originally, liberalism viewed the state as potential oppressor. In the early twentieth century liberals concluded that the state had the power and obligation to intervene for the public good. MORE
  • President: Topic Page
    In modern republics, the chief executive and, therefore, the highest officer in a government. MORE
 

What's a Topic Page?


Topic Pages are a scholarly version of the articles that you find on Wikipedia. The difference is that Topic Pages only include information that's scholarly, citable and verified so you don't have to spend time determining if it is appropriate for use in your academic paper. Literati has nearly 10,000 topic pages so the odds are that you can find one that addresses your topic. Explore the topics on this LibGuide page or use this Literati search box to find others:


Forms of Government

  • Communism: Topic Page
    Fundamentally, a system of social organization in which property (especially real property and the means of production) is held in common. MORE
  • Conservatism: Topic Page
    In politics, the desire to maintain, or conserve, the existing order. MORE
  • Fascism: Topic Page
    Totalitarian philosophy of government that glorifies the state and nation and assigns to the state control over every aspect of national life. MORE
  • Imperialism: Topic Page
    Broadly, the extension of rule or influence by one government, nation, or society over another. MORE
  • Pluralism
    From A Glossary of Political Theory Pluralism stands as a protest against ‘monism’ or one-ness, and emphasises that difference and multiplicity must be taken seriously. Pluralism is sometimes identified with the argument that in a liberal democracy, interests are diverse so that it is wrong to regard one factor – such as wealth, popularity, ethnicity – as ultimately predominant. MORE
  • Plutocracy
    From Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought Rule by wealth – i.e. any form of government in which institutions are so formed (whether or not by express design) that only a person of considerable wealth can hold office, either because of the expenses necessary to achieve, or those necessary to maintain it. MORE
  • Socialism: Topic Page
    General term for the political and economic theory that advocates a system of collective or government ownership and management of the means of production and distribution of goods. MORE
  • Theocracy
    From The Macmillan Encyclopedia A society in which the government is controlled by the priesthood or in which the political and legal system is conducted in strict accordance with religious belief. Pure theocracy has been rare in human history, with John Calvin's Geneva as perhaps the only true European example. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip