This is the "Background" page of the "International Politics of Human Rights" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Politics of Human Rights  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/international_politics_of_human_rights Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Background Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Full-Text Reference Books from Literati

Need more background information about International Polltics of Human Rights but don't have time to go to the library? UMass Lowell Libraries gives you access to these full-text electronic reference books through Literati. Click here for a short tutorial about what else is available through Literati.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945
This outstanding, comprehensive, and up-to-date encyclopedia on human rights issues from 1945 to 1998 features entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists.

Cover Art
The Essentials of Global Politics
This work provides an overview of the most important contemporary events and themes of global politics--including globalisation, the ever-present threat of war, and conflict and terrorism. With the aid of maps, lists, key facts and summary information, it offers a discussion of the effects that globalisation has had on global affairs.

Cover Art
Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
This encyclopedia explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment - Yvonne Jewkes and Jamie Bennett
The essential source of reference for the increasing number of people studying in, working in prisons and working with prisoners.

 

Want to Further Explore Your Topic? Create a Mind Map!

 

Looking for eBooks about International Polltics of Human Rights? Search here!

 

Looking for articles about International Polltics of Human Rights? Search here!

Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

General Terms

  • Human rights: Topic Page
    Rights (as freedom from unlawful imprisonment, torture, and execution) regarded as belonging fundamentally to all persons. MORE
  • Genocide: Topic Page
    Deliberate and systematic destruction of a national, racial, religious, or ethnic group defined by the exterminators as undesirable. MORE
  • Human Rights
    From Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History: Human rights are core human values such as the dignity of human beings, their essential equality, the right to live in a community, mutual respect, and individual liberty. MORE

Law

  • European Convention on Human RIghts: Topic Page
    Human-rights convention signed in 1950 by all member countries of the Council of Europe. The Convention was the first attempt to give legal content to human rights in an international agreement, and to combine this with the establishment of authorities for supervision and enforcement. MORE
  • Geneva Conventions
    From Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945: These are four treaties that represent agreements, updates, and codifications of international humanitarian law for the protection of war victims, including prisoners of war and civilians. MORE
  • International Humanitarian Law
    From A Dictionary of Diplomacy: The term by which, during the last quarter of the twentieth century, the ‘laws of war’ became known. MORE
  • International Law: Topic Page
    Body of rules considered legally binding in the relations between national states, also known as the law of nations. It is sometimes called public international law in contrast to private international law (or conflict of laws), which regulates private legal affairs affected by more than one jurisdiction. MORE
  • United Nations Charter
    From Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945: The charter of the United Nations is the nearest thing to a world constitution. It was signed on June 26, 1945, at the conclusion of the United Nations Conference on International Organization in San Francisco, California. MORE
  • American Convention on Human RIghts
    From Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945: The convention, also called the Pact of San Jose after the Costa Rican city where it was adopted on November 22, 1969, provides human rights protection for the region covering North, Central, and South America as well as the Caribbean. MORE

Human Rights Organizations

  • Amnesty International: Topic Page
    Amnesty International (AI), a worldwide nongovernmental organization (NGO) and human rights movement, was founded in 1961 by British lawyer Peter Benenson. MORE
  • Human Rights Watch
    From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide: US non-partisan pressure group that watches over and publicizes human-rights abuses by governments, especially attacks on those who defend human rights in their own countries. MORE
  • Oxfam
    From The Crystal Reference Encyclopedia: A British charity based in Oxford, dedicated to alleviating poverty and distress throughout the world; an abbreviated form of Oxford Committee for Famine Relief. MORE
 

What's a Topic Page?


Topic Pages are a scholarly version of the articles that you find on Wikipedia. The difference is that Topic Pages only include information that's scholarly, citable and verified so you don't have to spend time determining if it is appropriate for use in your academic paper. Literati has nearly 10,000 topic pages so the odds are that you can find one that addresses your topic. Explore the topics on this LibGuide page or use this Literati search box to find others:


Theories of Human Rights

  • Humanism and Anti-humanism
    From Key Concepts in Critical Social Theory: In the context of critical social theory ‘humanism’ refers genetically to theories of society, economy, history, culture, knowledge or ethics which are grounded in a conception of human nature or essence, that is, in a concept of species-specific human capacities, tendencies or needs. MORE
  • Libertarianism
    From Political Philosophy A-Z: A position in political philosophy which foregrounds individual liberty as the sovereign virtue of a political system. MORE
  • Relativism and Universalism
    From Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945: One of the more vexing themes in the area of human rights is whether those rights are universal in character or if they should be viewed in terms that are relative to cultural and other differences among humans. MORE

History

  • Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen (1789)
    From Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World: The representatives of the French people, organized as a National Assembly, believing that the ignorance, neglect, or contempt of the rights of man are the sole cause of public calamities and of the corruption of governments, have determined to set forth in a solemn declaration the natural, unalienable, and sacred rights of man, MORE
  • International Human Rights Day: Topic Page
    December 10, 1948, is the day on which the first part of the International Bill of Human Rights, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR), was adopted by the United Nations General Assembly. MORE
  • European Convention on Human Rights: Topic Page
    Human-rights convention signed in 1950 by all member countries of the Council of Europe. The Convention was the first attempt to give legal content to human rights in an international agreement, and to combine this with the establishment of authorities for supervision and enforcement. MORE

International Bill of Human Rights

  • International Bill of Human Rights
    From Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945: The International Bill of Human Rights is a collective term that is used internationally to denote four international human rights instruments. MORE
  • Universal Declaration of Human Rights: Topic Page
    An international declaration, adopted in 1948 by the General Assembly of the UN. It declares that all human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights without discrimination of race, colour, sex, language, political opinion, or religion. MORE
  • International Convenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights
    From Poverty and the Government in America: A Historical Encyclopedia: The International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights (CESCR) is a United Nations treaty that requires countries that ratify it to take steps to ensure that their citizens have economic rights (such as the right to a job with fair pay), social rights (such as the right to education and the highest possible medical care), and cultural rights (such as the right to take part in cultural life, and to benefit from scientific advances). MORE
  • International Convenant on Civil and Political Rights
    From Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945: This covenant is one of the four instruments that form the International Bill of Human Rights. It is paired with the fourth of these instruments, the Optional Protocol to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip