How to use Ebscohost

Understanding the Search Results Page

The Result List Screen has three columns: 

  • Left - Refine Search
  • Middle - Results Display
  • Right - Related Information

You can hide or show the different areas by clicking the control arrows at the top of the left and right columns. Your library administrator decides whether the facets in the left column are displayed.

Left - Refine Search

The Left Column displays the Current Search, Limiters, and Facets 

  • Current Search - Click the toggle arrow to open the Current Search box. Current Search keeps track of your search terms, search options, and facets applied to your search. Click the blue "x" next to a phrase to get rid of the refiner.

 

  • Limit To – Apply limiters right from the Result List by clicking a hyperlinked limiter 

    or checkbox. Refine your search even more by clicking the Show More link. 

‚ÄčYou can refine your search in a variety of ways. Limiting by full text, scholarly/peer-reviewed and a time period is the first step. Select "Show More" to refine your search further.

 

  • Facets – You can narrow by source type, subject, journal, author, and more. This feature, also known as “clustering,” is helpful if you want to discover the major subject groups for your topic without having to browse multiple pages of results, or checking individual articles to see if they are relevant.
    • Start by browsing your options. You can check and uncheck boxes to narrow your search. Doing so will automatically update your search results page, as well as your current search box. 

Middle - Results Display

Results Display – The articles that were found are displayed in the center of the Result List Screen. You can also access the Result Sort, Page Options, and Share drop-down menus from the Results column. 

  • The article title link takes you to the citation information and/or the full text. Place your mouse over the Preview icon to view the Abstract. 

  • The HTML Full Text link takes you directly to the full text of the article. 

  • The PDF Full Text link takes you to a PDF version of the full text. The PDF will open in the Adobe Reader.  

  • Subjects – Subject Terms that are assigned to each item are displayed in the result list.

  • Result List Sort – Click this link to select one of the following result list sorting options: Date Newest, Date Oldest, Author, Source, or Relevance. If you are searching more than one database at the same time, only the sort options common to all the databases that you selected will be available.

Right - Related Information

When additional sources such as images, blogs, widgets, and Web news are available, they will be displayed in this column. 

  • Folder – If articles are stored in the folder, they will appear in this column under Folder has items. To view the items in your Folder, click the Go to Folder View link. To save them, sign in to your My EBSCOhost folder. 

  • Related Images – Place your mouse over an image—a full size view of the image displays. 

  • Additional Source Types – You may be able to refine your results list by additional source types when the appropriate databases are being searched. These additional Source Types include: 

    • Company Profiles
    • Videos
    • Business Videos
    • Small Business Videos
    • Historical Images
  • Widgets – If any additional resources have been added by your administrator using widgets, they will appear in this column.

Use this drop-down menu to customize how your result list page is displayed.

To set your Page Options:

  • Result Format - Click the select a result list format.

  • Image QuickView - Select whether or not you would like thumbnails of images from your articles to display on the result list. 

  • Results per page - Select the number of results per page you would like displayed. 

  • Page Layout - Select your desired column layout for the Result List.

  • Add to folder - Add all displayed articles to the folder or add the search to the folder as a persistent link to a search. 
  • Create an alert - Create a search alert e-mail or an RSS feed right from the Result List, even if you are not signed in to My EBSCOhost.

  • Use Permalink - Highlight the link text and copy using your browser's copy function. You can immediately paste the link into a web site, document or e-mail.

    You can also store links to your EBSCOhost pages to social bookmarking sites such as dig, del.icio.us, Technorati, bloglines, etc.

  • Export Results - If enabled by your administrator, click to email a link to download exported results.

Loading