On the basic search screen enter your search in the "Enter any words" box. Use the arrow next to Keyword to search by Title, or Author.
If you would like to use any of the optional Limiters or Expanders select the Search Options link.
Under Search Options, the search modes offer four different ways to conduct a search. You can combine a search mode with expanders such as Apply related words, and/or with limiters such as Full Text or Publication Type.
Boolean/Phrase – Supports any Boolean searching or exact phrase searching. Stop words are ignored when part of phrases being searched. For more information on Booleans, click Here.
Find all of my search terms – Auto AND all search terms entered (e.g. web AND accessibility)
Find any of my search terms – Auto OR all search terms entered (e.g. web OR accessibility)
SmartText Searching - You can copy and paste large chunks of text to search for results. SmartText Searching leverages a technology that summarizes text entered to the most relevant search terms then conducts search. This search mode is not available for all databases.
Select "Advanced Search" under the search bar on the home screen. Here youc an use Boolean operators (AND, OR and NOT) as well as restrict your search results.
If desired, select to restrict your results to a Title search or an Author search using the drop-down menu beside the Find field. (Keyword is the default.)
Select from the available Search Options:
Search modes – Use specific search modes, such as “Find all of my search terms,” or “SmartText Searching,” or use search options that expand your search such as “Apply related words.”
Limit your results – such as Full Text or Publication type.
Special Limiters – Apply limiters specific to a database. If you select a special limiter, it is applied only to the database under which it appears
1. Run a search on EBSCO Discovery Service, and view your search results.
2. Click the Search History link below the Find field. Search history is displayed above the Result List. To close Search History, click the Search History link again.
3. Select from the following search history features:
Add lines of search statement history to your current search – Select the lines of your search statement by marking the check boxes to the left of the search statements and then click either Search with AND or Search with OR. The lines of search history will be added to the Find field with the appropriate Boolean operator. Click Search to display a new Result List.
View Results for a line of your search history – Click a linked View Results (xx). The Result List is displayed.
View Details – Click a View Details link to view the Interface, Search Screen, and Database for that line of your search history.
4. You can delete specific searches from your history by placing a check in the box next to the desired searches and clicking the Delete Searches button.
Note: The search history available to you includes only the searches from the current session. Unless you create a saved search, when your session ends, search history is cleared.
When searching EBSCO Discovery Service, if you receive a message that indicates no results were found, you may want to refine your search terms and try running the search again.
There are different ways to refine your search so that the maximum search results are returned. In addition to trying the suggestions provided on the Search Screens, you could also try any of the following:
Depending on the databases selected and how your library administrator has configured EBSCO Discovery Service, you may have expanders available. If so, try broadening your search to locate terms not only in the citation and abstract but also within the full text of the article. By marking the "Also search within full text of the article," you will expand the search.
Depending on the databases selected and how your library administrator has configured EBSCO Discovery Service, you may have a thesaurus expander available. If so, try marking the "Also search for related words" expander. EBSCO's thesaurus will find synonyms, alternate spellings and plurals for your search terms.
Try unmarking one or more limiters. Limiters narrow your result list—depending upon the limiters you've chosen, you may have created too narrow of a search.
The Basic and Advanced Search Screens let you create a Boolean search with operators such as AND, OR and NOT. These searches are not designed to yield significant results if you enter long phrases or questions in everyday English.
If you receive a message that indicates an error in your query syntax, try searching again, keeping in mind the following:
Reenter your search terms. Make sure you don't unnecessarily repeat words.
Don't duplicate Boolean terms. (Enter "heart and lung" not "heart and and lung.")
There may be situations where you rerun a search and no results are found.
If you run a search against a different database, the limiters and expanders you originally selected may not appear in the new database.
If you run a search against the same database, but the database has changed, the limiters and expanders you originally selected may no longer be available in that database.
You can perform a search under a particular subject. On the home screen, a list of subjects are listed below the search bar.
Select a subject and perform a search