Genocide: Armenian, Rwandan, Cambodian, and the Holocaust

Educational Resources

UML eBooks

Recommended Books

An émigré life oral history transcript : Munich, Berlin, Sanary, Pacific Palisades

Transcript of a 50-hour interview completed under the auspices of the UCLA Oral History Program. Feuchtwanger recollects her life and discusses her husband's writings as they lived in Germany, fled to Sanary and then the United States

The Holocaust Chronicle

This chronicle, written and fact checked by top scholars, recounts the long complex, anguishing story of the Holocaust.

The Zookeeper's Wife: A War Story by Diane Ackerman
After their zoo was bombed, Polish zookeepers Jan and Antonina Zabinski managed to save over three hundred people from the Nazis by hiding refugees in the empty animal cages.

Night by Elie Wiesel 

Elie Wiesel's masterpiece, a candid, horrific, and deeply poignant autobiographical account of his survival as a teenager in the Nazi death camps.

Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl

Discovered in the attic in which she spent the last years of her life, Anne Frank's remarkable diary has since become a world classic—a powerful reminder of the horrors of war and an eloquent testament to the human spirit.

Maus: A Survivor's Tale by Art Spiegelman

The New Yorker The Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story.

A Scrap of Time and Other Stories by Ida Fink

These shattering stories describe the lives of ordinary people as they are compelled to do the unimaginable: a couple who must decide what to do with their five-year-old daughter as the Gestapo come to march them out of town; a wife whose safety depends on her acquiescence in her husband's love affair; a girl who must pay a grim price for an Aryan identity card.

image of jewish refugees - click the image to learn moreNews Articles

The Holocaust and the Nazi Era (NYT)
News about Holocaust and the Nazi Era, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.

The Holocaust: Who are the missing million? by Raffi Berg
BBC article about Holocaust victims


Journal Articles

The Holocaust: Learning the Wrong Lessons by Boaz Evron
Article on the Holocaust that is likely the first serious statement on the subject by an Israeli Jewish writer

No Lessons Learned from the Holocaust? Assessing Risks of Genocide and Political Mass Murder since 1955 by Barbara Harff

‚ÄčThis article details genocide and specific cases since the Holocaust

A Teachers Guide to the Holocaust: Documents
The documents selected for this section provide many possibilities for classroom discussion or student activities

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Primary Sources
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum collects Holocaust-related materials in all formats, including original documents, photographs, film footage, music, and oral histories, as well as published materials such as books, periodicals, documentaries, and other resources.

Holocaust Primary Source Set (Eastern Illinois University)
This Primary Source set is merely an sample of resources from the digitized collections at the Library of Congress.

The World Holocaust Remembrance Center
The Center has a large collection of sources from the Yad Vashem Archives, including various kinds of original Holocaust-era documentation provided in English including letters and diaries written by Jews during the Holocaust, numerous photographs and original documents. 

Nuremberg Trials Archive
The Harvard Law School Library's Nuremberg Trials Project is an open-access initiative to create and present digitized images or full-text versions of the Library's Nuremberg documents, descriptions of each document, and general information about the trials.

FacingHistory.org Holocaust Educational Resourcesimage - nuremberg trials
FacingHistory.org provides teachers with educations resources that include lesson plans, readings, videos, films, books, and more.

A Teachers Guide to the Holocaust
An overview of the people and events of the Holocaust through photographs, documents, art, music, movies, and literature

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Explore readings, photographs, lessons, maps, and more.

The Holocaust: A guide for students and teachers
An overview of the Holocaust with plenty of images written in textbook form

The Nizkor Project Archives
Nizkor--"we remember"--offers a thorough collection of online sources related to the Holocaust and war crimes trials

Memory of the Camps (Frontline)
Seventy years ago, Allied troops invaded Germany and liberated Nazi death camps. They found unspeakable horrors which still haunt the world’s conscience. Frontline presents the world broadcast of a 1945 film made by British and American film crews who were with the troops liberating the camps. The film was directed in part by Alfred Hitchcock and was broadcast for the first time in its entirety on FRONTLINE.

Watch Know Learn - Holocaust Educational Videos
Videos about the Holocaust in WWII

British Library Holocaust Testimony
"These recordings are powerful personal accounts of the Holocaust from Jewish survivors living in Britain. This collection contains interviews from two oral history projects, the Living Memory of the Jewish Community (C410) and the Holocaust Survivors' Centre Interviews (C830)."

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
"This archive 'is a collection of over 4,400 videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust.' A portion of the segments is available online. The archive is associated with Yale University's sterling Memorial Library."

American Holocaust Memorial Museum Activities
"The Museum has a number of resources teachers can use to help students learn the history of the Holocaust and reflect upon the moral and ethical questions it raises."

Loading ...