Genocide: Armenian, Rwandan, Cambodian, and the Holocaust

Educational Resources

UML eBooks

Recommended Books

The Cambodian Genocide, 1975-1979 by Ben Kiernan 
Full text PDF to a lengthy book that covers the history of the Cambodian Genocide

First They Killed My Father by Loung Ung

One of seven children of a high-ranking government official, Loung Ung lived a privileged life in the Cambodian capital of Phnom Penh until the age of five. Then, in April 1975, Pol Pot's Khmer Rouge army stormed into the city, forcing Ung's family to flee and, eventually, to disperse. Loung was trained as a child soldier in a work camp for orphans, her siblings were sent to labor camps, and those who survived the horrors would not be reunited until the Khmer Rouge was destroyed.

image of 2 children and a bicycleNews Articles

The New York Times: Cambodia and the Khmer Rouge
Links to the NYT news articles detailing events from the Cambodian Genocide.

Cambodia's Brutal Khmer Rouge Regime (BBC)

Brief article about the Khmer Rouge with images and links to more readings

Cambodia Country Profile (BBC)
Overview of Cambodia by BBC with links to additional news articles and resources

Pol Pot Remembered (BBC)
News article from 1998 from Elizabeth Becker of the New York Times, author of 'When the War is Over', is one of the few westerners ever to have met Pol Pot.

Journal Articles

International Law and Cambodian Genocide: Sounds of Silence by Hurst Hannum
From the Johns Hopkins Press this lengthy article covers the history of the Cambodian Genocide

Why Did You Kill?: The Cambodian Genocide and the Dark Side of Face and Honor by Alexander Laban Hinton
An articles from the Journal of Asian Studies detailing the intent of the Khmer Rouge

Trials and Tribulations: The Latest Twists in the Long Quest for Justice for the Cambodian Genocide by Helen Jarvis
This article discusses the tribunal hearings and justice for the victims of the Khmer Rouge

The Tuol Sleng Archives and the Cambodian Genocide by Dawne Adam
This paper describes how the Khmer Rouge documented the genocide they committed, the bureaucracy the Khmer Rouge created, and suggests some reasons why they documented their activities so extensively

Statement of the co-prosecutors 
Tribunal statement from the co-prosecutors July 18, 2007

Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia Legal Documents
Documents pertaining to the trial of Khmer Rouge leaders

Cambodia Genocide Program Photos (Yale)
Links to several photos of the Cambodian Genocide

Digital Archive of Cambodian Holocaust Survivors (DACHS)
Articles about the Khmer Rouge and survivor stories

Cambodia Photo Gallery

IMAGE - Cambodians toil at an irrigation project in Kompong Thom province in 1976. —Documentation Center of Cambodia

Cambodians toil at an irrigation project in Kompong Thom province in 1976. —Documentation Center of Cambodia. Click to learn more.

There are currently more than 1300 photos in this site's photo archive.

Cambodia Genocide Program (Yale)
Links to publications, maps, tribunal news, and more resources

Cambodian Genocide (World Without Genocide)
A good overview of the Cambodian genocide and ECCC with plenty of images and maps

Cambodia - United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Several webpages with background information pertaining to the Cambodian Genocide 

From Sideshow To Genocide: Stories of the Cambodian Holocaust By Andy Carvin
​Website with background information about the Khmer Rouge and links to survivor stories

Cambodia Information Center
Cambodia profile and links to news articles

Illinois Holocaust Museum 
The Museum fulfills its mission through the exhibition, preservation and interpretation of its collections and through education programs and initiatives that foster the promotion of human rights and the elimination of genocide.


PBS Film: New Year Baby
Using animation to illustrate family memories and Cambodia’s history, NEW YEAR BABY intertwines the stories of Socheata’s parents with those of millions of others who suffered under the Khmer Rouge. Includes background information about the family in the film.

Pol Pot's Shadow (Frontline)
"I came on a journey to Cambodia to find out why there's been no public reckoning," says Frontline/World reporter and Pew Fellow in International Journalism Amanda Pike. She discovers a country still haunted by the ghosts of those who died -- a country that does not know whether to confront or bury its violent past. Site includes links to video, background, maps, and additional resources. 

Enemies of the People
In ENEMIES OF THE PEOPLE the men and women who perpetrated the massacres – from the foot-soldiers who slit throats to the party’s ideological leader, Nuon Chea aka Brother Number Two – break a 30-year silence to give testimony never before heard or seen.

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here.

USC Shoah Foundation Cambodian Genocide Testimony
Developed through a partnership between USC Shoah Foundation and the Documentation Center of Cambodia, the Cambodian Genocide Collection offers testimonies of Khmer Rouge period survivors who escaped the killings of nearly two million Cambodians during 1975-1979. Survivor Stories
Local Cambodian Genocide survivors tells their stories in an article on

Cambodia's Quest for Justice (NYT)
Lesson plan from NYT with links to articles and questions for students

PBS Enemies of the People Lesson Plan

In this lesson, students will hear the points of view of people from various ranks of the Khmer Rouge who participated in the killing of nearly 2 million Cambodians during Pol Pot's regime

Loading ...