Genocide: Armenian, Rwandan, Cambodian, and the Holocaust

Educational Resources

UML eBooks

Recommended Books

Crimes Against Humanity and Civilization: The Genocide of the Armenians
Crimes Against Humanity and Civilization: The Genocide of the Armenians combines the latest scholarship on the Armenian Genocide with an interdisciplinary approach to history, enabling students and teachers to make the essential connections between history and their own lives. You can download a free PDF of the book by creating a login for FacingHistory.org.

The Burning Tigris: The Armenian Genocide and America's Response, by Peter Balakian
‚ÄčIn this national bestseller, the critically acclaimed author Peter Balakian brings us a riveting narrative of the massacres of the Armenians in the 1890s and of the Armenian Genocide in 1915 at the hands of the Ottoman Turks. Using rarely seen archival documents and remarkable first-person accounts, Balakian presents the chilling history of how the Turkish government implemented the first modern genocide behind the cover of World War I. And in the telling, he resurrects an extraordinary lost chapter of American history.

News Articles

Armenian Genocide of 1915: An Overview (NYT)
Article on the New York Times by John Kifner that gives a brief overview of the Armenian Genocide. 

A Century Later, Slaughter Still Haunts Turkey and Armenia by Paul Salopek (National Geographic)
Longer article (with images and map) detailing Turkey and Armenia a century after the genocide. 

 

Journal Articles

Professional Ethics and the Denial of Armenian Genocide by Roger W. Smith
This article examines Turkish efforts to deny the Armenian genocide of 1915-17. Specifically, it exposes an arrangement by which the government of Turkey has channeled funds into a supposedly objective research institute in the United States, which in turn paid the salary of a historian who served that government in its campaign to discredit scholarship on the Armenian genocide. 

The Armenian Genocide of 1915-1916: Cumulative Radicalization and the Development of a Destruction Policy by Donald Bloxham

The League of Nations' Rescue of Armenian Genocide Survivors and the Making of Modern Humanitarianism, 1920—1927 by Keith David Watenpaugh

Armenian refugeesSample Archival Documents on the Armenian Genocide
Archival documents from the US and British Archives from armenian-genocide.org.

The Armenian Genocide: Documents from State and Private Archives
From Armenocide.de this website provides links to primary documents including Documents from the Political Archives of the German Foreign Office

Documents and Maps from The Genocide Education Project
Maps of the areas affected by the Armenian Genocide as well as primary documents including US News Accounts, Survivor Accounts, and letters from the American Comm. for Armenian and Syrian Relief. 


Teaching the Armenian Genocide with Primary Documents from the New York Times
New York Times articles with links to original 1915 articles from the New York Times pertaining to the Armenian Genocide. 

IMAGE - Armenians are marched to a nearby prison in Mezireh by armed Turkish soldiers. Kharpert, Armenia, Ottoman Empire - April, 1915.

Armenians are marched to a nearby prison in Mezireh by armed Turkish soldiers. Kharpert, Armenia, Ottoman Empire - April, 1915. From the Project SAVE collection.

Facing History: The Genocide of the Armenians Unit
This series of eight lessons is organized as a mini-unit for teaching the Armenian Genocide

The Armenian Genocide: Facing History Resources
Facinghistory.org provides a full range of resources that include readings, lessons, DVDs, videos, books, and more. To view all the resources click the above link. 

Armenian National Institute
Dedicated to the research of the Armenian Genocide. This site includes suggested readings, curricula, photo collections, videos, and more. 

Armenian Genocide Museum of America
Online museum collection of photos, maps, and information pertaining to the Armenian Genocide. 

 

Project SAVE
Project SAVE Armenian Photograph Archives is the premier archive of Armenian photographs in the United States. Headquartered in Watertown, Massachusetts, Project SAVE's mission is to collect, document, preserve, and present the historic and modern photographic record of Armenians and Armenian heritage.

The Armenian Genocide Museum-Institute
The mission of the Museum-Institute is the academic and scientific study, analysis of the problems as well as exhibition of the textual and visual documentation related to the first Genocide of the 20th century. This site includes photo collections, maps, survivor stories, and primary documents. 

Artifact
Armenia, the Land of Noah | Full Documentary

Introducing the Armenian Genocide
Scholar Richard G. Hovannisian gives an overview of the Armenian Genocide.

The American response to the Armenian Genocide
Professor Peter Balakian describes the American response to the Armenian Genocide during World War I.

Crimes Against Humanity and Civilization: The Genocide of the Armenians (DVD)
This companion DVD follows the scope and sequence of the Facing History resource book of the same name. It includes presentations by scholars Taner Akçam, Fatma Müge Goçek, Richard Hovannisian, Theo van Lint, and Samantha Power, speaking about the background and history of the Armenian Genocide, the role of perpetrators and ordinary people, the choices made by Turkey and the United States, and continuing questions of judgment and legacy. You can borrow or purchase this DVD from FacingHistory.org.

Armenian Genocide Testimony (Shoah Foundation)
The Armenian Film Foundation’s film archive contains nearly 400 interviews of Armenian Genocide survivors and witnesses who are now deceased. The interviews were conducted in 10 countries, primarily in English and Armenian—some in rare Armenian dialects—though other interview languages include Arabic, Greek, Spanish, French, Kurdish, Turkish, German, and Russian.

Genocide Education Survivors Accounts
An Exhibit By The Genocide ProjectOral and Visual Documentation of Survivors of the Armenian GenocidePhotographs by Ara Oshagan and Levon Parian

USC Shoah Foundation iWitness Activities
Mini video lessons from the University of Southern California

Armenian Genocide Lesson Plans 
A PDF of lesson plans from the Armenian Education Center includes background information, review questions, journal assignments, extension activities, etc. 

Loading ...