Energy and Petroleum Engineering

Video

How to Interpret a Scientific Paper

Understanding a peer-reviewed article can be a daunting task. Watch this video from UML's very own Lori Weeden, from the Environmental Science Department, to get a grasp on reading scientific papers. 

Where do I start my research?

Just starting your research and not sure where to begin? Check out this Beginning Research LibGuide, which offers information on databases, interlibrary loans, plagiarism, citation and other online resources. 
database is a collection of information on a website organized so you conduct a search (by keyword, title, author, etc). The UML Library provides free access to a multitude of databases for students which have sources that include journal articles, books, conference papers, maps, government reports, etc.
It's a good place to start to look for articles, books, etc. Especially peer-reviewed articles from academic journals (for example, Solar Energy). To clarify, a database can be used to search for journals, which contain peer-reviewed articles, vital to references when writing a thesis or doing research.
Some databases provide full-text and some don't.  If the database you're searching doesn't include full-text, use: 

Energy & Petroleum Engineering Journals and Databases

Databases

The UML Catalog is the best place to start. These databases are also useful when looking for specific journals or articles.

Compendex

Academic Search PremierHere you can search complete list of journals published by the American Society of 
Mechanical Engineers

Academical Engineers

Science Direct

WileyCovers approximately 400 engineering and science journals from 1996 to present.

Cambridge Scientific AbstractsIncludes Polymer Library and Engineered Materials Abstracts

​SciFinder Scholar

Begin by searching UMass Lowell's Library Catalog

The results will show both what UML has available and what nearby institutions have available. You can confine your search by journal if you are looking for a specific title, for example Andean Geology, or by article title, topic or author. Select the journal or article to view your options for availability.