Introduction to Research Methods in Education
by Keith F. Punch; Alis E. Oancea
Publication Date: 2014-12-12
Based on Keith Punch's bestselling Introduction to Social Research Methods, this book introduces the research process in a range of educational contexts. In this updated second edition, you'll find guidance on every stage of research, with chapters on developing research questions, doing a literature review, collecting data, analysing your findings and writing it all up. With a new chapter on ethics and additional coverage of Internet research and mixing methods, the second edition contains everything you'll need if you're studying on a research methods course or doing a research project for yourself. Introduction to Research Methods in Education provides you with: Balanced coverage of the range of methods employed by educational researchers Practical advice on collecting and analysing qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods data A range of examples from student projects to show how research is done in real-life educational settings A companion website with additional resources for lecturers and students. Keith F Punch is Emeritus Professor in the Graduate School of Education at The University of Western Australia. Alis Oancea is Professor of Philosophy of Education and Research Policy, as well as Director of Research at the University of Oxford, Department of Education.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by American Psychological Association Staff
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.
SAGE Handbook of Mixed Methods in Social and Behavioral Research
by Abbas Tashakkori; Charles B. Teddlie
Publication Date: 2010-06-21
The Handbook of Mixed Methods in Social & Behavioral Research contains a gold mine of articles by leading scholars on what has come to be known as the third methodological movement in social research. Aimed at surveying the differing viewpoints and disciplinary approaches of mixed methods, this breakthrough book examines mixed methods from the research enterprise to paradigmatic issues to application. The book also discusses the strengths and weaknesses of mixed methods designs, and provides an array of specific examples in a variety of disciplines, from psychology to nursing. The book closes with a brief section on how to teach and perform collaborative research using a mixed methods research design. Written so that it can be used either as a pedagogical tool or as a reference for researchers, the book is rich in examples and includes a glossary, easy-to-follow diagrams, and tables to help readers become more familiar with the language and controversies in this evolving area.