EDUC.6911: Introduction to Research Design and Methods - Newton

Search WorldCat

 
 
 

Search for an item in libraries near you:

WorldCat.org >>

Search Google Scholar

For more information on how to use Google Scholar, check out our libguide

Interlibrary Loan

If an item isn't available from UMass Lowell, search and request it through Interlibrary Loan. For more information, check this libguide. New users must register here.

Research Databases

ERIC

ERIC is a collection of journal articles and documents related to education. Use Full Text Finder to get complete articles when not already in PDF Full Text. To get those we don't subscribe to, Inter Library Loan is completely free. 

A mix of peer reviewed articles (EJ) and ERIC documents (ED). EDs include lesson plans, guides, books, and other non-peer reviewed items.

 

If you are unable to view the above video, you can watch it here.

Education Research Complete

Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,150 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,200 journals, and includes full text for more than 500 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.

If you are unable to view the above video, you can watch it here.

Using Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to find full text articles but in order to do so you need to create some settings in your browser. This link shows you how to sync it with the UML collections to make the most of your search results. You can also sync with EndNote to add your citations to the software.

If unable to view, click here

Full Text Finder and Inter Library Loan

We will get you any book, article, or other item you need for your research. In many cases, the full text of an article will be right in the database. Other times you will see a link for Full text finderFull Text Finder‚Äč. Clicking that link will search in all our subscriptions for your article. If we don't have it, you will see an option to request the item for free through Inter Library Loan (free!). Did I mention it's free? Don't pay for these articles through the publishers. We will do it for free. The following demo video will show you how to use it.

If unable to view, click here

What is a literature review?

Literature review is a means of placing your research questions in the context of the overall research done within your topic. It helps you avoid reinventing the wheel, and makes it more probable that your study will help solve real-world problems.

Ask yourself, have other researchers asked questions similar to mine and what results did they uncover?  Given what other researchers have discovered, which piece of the research puzzle is missing in this particular topic, and does my proposed research fit in the space?

Use this section to view demos of using each of the relevant research databases to conduct your literature review. Please contact the library if you have questions. Reference Librarian Sara Marks understands your needs and wants to help. You can also book an appointment for hands on assistance.

Loading ...

Databases