This is the "Info" page of the "Criminal Mind and Behavior" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Mind and Behavior  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/criminal_mind_and_behavior Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Reference Books from Literati

Need more background information about the Criminal Mind and Behavior but don't have time to go to the library? UMass Lowell Libraries gives you access to these full-text electronic reference books through Literati. Click here for a short tutorial about what else is available through Literati.

Cover Art
The Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression - Daniel J. Flannery, Alexander T. Vazsonyi, and Irwin D. Waldman
From a team of leading experts comes a comprehensive, multidisciplinary examination of the most current research including the complex issue of violence and violent behavior.

Cover Art
World of Criminal Justice, Gale - Shirelle Phelps
The individual entries in this ready-reference source explain in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice. Brief biographical profiles of the people who have made a significant and lasting impact on the field of criminal justice and society in general are included. Photographs, statistical charts, and graphs aid the reader in understanding the topics and people covered in the reference work.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Forensic Psychology - Graham Towl, David P. Farrington, David Crighton, and Gareth Hughes
Entries (of between 500 and 1500 words) on key terms and concepts in forensic psychology arranged alphabetically.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict
Provides crucial and contemporary information about antagonism and reconciliation within both the public and private realms.

 

Want to Further Explore Your Topic? Create a Mind Map!

 

Looking for eBooks about Criminal Mind and Behavior? Search here!

 

Looking for articles about Criminal Mind and Behavior? Search here!

Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

Criminal Mind and Behavior

  • Criminal Capacity
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale Criminal capacity refers to the requisite mental and physical state of mind and frame of reference to understand the nature and consequence of one’s acts. It implies the competency to appreciate right from wrong so as to be held accountable or culpable for offenses committed. Age may also be a criterion: children under seven years of age are incapable of criminal capacity as a matter of law and are, therefore, not accountable for their crimes. MORE
  • Serial and Mass Murderers
    From Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict
    Murder refers to the unlawful killing of another human being. In both academic and police usage, the two forms of multiple murder usually refer to the slaughter of three or more persons, most often with “a common motive, method, and/or type of victim”. MORE
  • Aggression and Criminal Behavior
    From Encyclopedia of the Human Genome The reasons for criminal and aggressive behavior in humans are complex and include both biological and nonbiological explanations. Genes play a role in aggression, and both human and animal studies suggest that some common gene variants predispose some people to violent actions and criminality. MORE
  • Personality and Crime
    From Dictionary of Forensic Psychology Much of the research examining the relationship between personality and crime has focused on personality disorder, and the literature on ‘normal’ personality dimensions and crime is relatively meagre. Existing studies have tended to use diverse study designs, assessment instruments and outcome measures, and no systematic reviews or meta-analyses have been undertaken. MORE
  • Antisocial Personality and Psychopathy
    From Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
    Antisocial personality is a personality disorder that affects about 3% of men and 1% of women. Personality disorders are mental disorders that reflect fundamental problems in the early development of personality, resulting in enduring psychological and behavioral problems that begin in childhood or adolescence and continue into adulthood. MORE

Factors that Influence Criminal Behavior

  • Criminal Behavior, Theories of
    From Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict Theories of criminal behavior can be classified as one of three types: biological/physiological theories, which look for the causes of criminal behavior in the biological or physical make up of individual offenders; psychological/ psychiatric theories, which look for the causes of criminal behavior in the mental or emotional make-up of individual offenders; and sociological theories, which look for the causes of criminal behavior in factors external to individual offenders, including the environments in which they live, their relationships with others, and others'reactions to their behavior as well as their sex, social class, and racial/ethnic identification. MORE
  • Mental Illness
    From Encyclopedia of Women's Health Mental illness can be defined as behavioral, psychological, or biological dysfunction that interferes with an individual's daily life and ability to cope with normal stressors.- Nearly 25% of women will experience mental illness in their lifetime. MORE
  • Poverty: Topic Page
    Condition in which the basic needs of human beings (shelter, food, and clothing) are not being met. MORE
  • Physical Abuse
    From Mosby's Emergency Dictionary physical injury, generally caused by another with whom the injured party has a legal or social relationship, under circumstances that indicate that the injured party's health or welfare is being harmed or threatened.
  • Drug Abuse
    From World of Sociology, Gale Drugs are defined as any substance other than food that upon ingestion alters the body’s structure and functioning. This broad definition includes a variety of substances that are not typically abused by members of sociey or considered harmful in any recognized way. MORE
  • Post-traumatic Stress Disorder: Topic Page
    (PTSD), mental disorder that follows an occurrence of extreme psychological stress, such as that encountered in war or resulting from violence, childhood abuse, sexual abuse, or serious accident. MORE
  • Juvenile delinquency: Topic Page
    Legal term for behavior of children and adolescents that in adults would be judged criminal under law. In the United States, definitions and age limits of juveniles vary, the maximum age being set at 14 years in some states and as high as 21 years in others. MORE

Treatment Approaches

  • Rehabilitation
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale In criminal justice, rehabilitation is the goal of improving offenders’ educational, vocational, psychological, and physical welfare for the purpose of changing their behavior. MORE
  • Cognitive Behavior Therapy
    From Webster's New World™ Medical Dictionary A therapeutic practice that helps patients recognize and remedy dysfunctional thought patterns. One characteristic technique is exposure and response prevention, in which a patient with a phobia deliberately exposes himself or herself to the feared situation, gradually decreasing the panic response. MORE
  • Counselling
    From Bloomsbury Guide to Human Thought Counselling, in psychiatry, has taken the therapeutic skills developed in various areas of psychology which correspond most closely to the helping skills of caring, listening and reflection. With the aim of creating a trusting relationship and being supportive, while giving little or no direction or advice, counselling endeavours to enable people to develop insight into their problems and to find resources within themselves by looking at their lives in a fresh way. MORE
 

What's a Topic Page?


Topic Pages are a scholarly version of the articles that you find on Wikipedia. The difference is that Topic Pages only include information that's scholarly, citable and verified so you don't have to spend time determining if it is appropriate for use in your academic paper. Literati has nearly 10,000 topic pages so the odds are that you can find one that addresses your topic. Explore the topics on this LibGuide page or use this Literati search box to find others:


Types of Crime

  • Child abuse: Topic Page
    The deliberate injury of a child. Child abuse can take several forms: neglect (including failure to provide adequate shelter, food, or medical treatment), physical abuse (including beating and poisoning), emotional abuse (including verbal abuse), and sexual abuse. MORE
  • Counterfeiting: Topic Page
    Manufacturing spurious coins, paper money, or evidences of governmental obligation (e.g., bonds) in the semblance of the true. MORE
  • Domestic violence: Topic Page
    Domestic violence, or intimate partner violence, is defined as a pattern of assaultive and coercive behaviors, including physical, sexual, and psychological attacks as well as economic coercion that adults or adolescents use against their intimate partners. MORE
  • Felony: Topic Page
    Any grave crime, in contrast to a misdemeanor, that is so declared in statute or was so considered in common law. MORE
  • Fraud: Topic Page
    In law, willful misrepresentation intended to deprive another of some right. The offense, generally only a tort, may also constitute the crime of false pretenses. MORE
  • Human trafficking: Topic Page
    Human trafficking refers to the trading and systematic movement of people by various means, potentially involving a variety of agents, institutions and intermediaries. It typically involves coercion, deception and the exploitation of those who are moved within or across borders. MORE
  • Murder: Topic Page
    Criminal homicide, usually distinguished from manslaughter by the element of malice aforethought. MORE
  • Negligence: Topic Page
    In law, especially tort law, the breach of an obligation (duty) to act with care, or the failure to act as a reasonable and prudent person. MORE
  • Piracy: Topic Page
    Robbery committed or attempted on the high seas. It is distinguished from privateering in that the pirate holds no commission from and receives the protection of no nation but usually attacks vessels of all nations. MORE
  • Rape: Topic Page
    In law, the crime of sexual intercourse without the consent of the victim, often through force or threat of violence. The victim is deemed legally incapable of consenting if she or he is known to be mentally incompetent, intoxicated, drugged, or below the age of consent at the time of the rape. MORE
  • Robbery
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale Robbery is the unlawful taking of property that is in immediate possession or presence of another person by force or threat of force. There are two degrees of this crime, namely armed robbery and unarmed robbery. Armed robbery involves the use or threatened use of a deadly weapon. Unarmed robbery, which is sometimes called strong-arm robbery, is robbery without the use of a weapon. MORE
  • Sexual discrimination: Topic Page
    Sexual discrimination involves treating someone differently, usually less favourably, because of his or her gender. MORE
  • Sexual harassment: Topic Page
    In law, verbal or physical behavior of a sexual nature, aimed at a particular person or group of people, especially in the workplace. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip