This is the "Research Tools" page of the "Criminal Justice Ethics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice Ethics   Tags: ethics  

Last Updated: Jul 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/criminal_justice_ethics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Research Tools Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find eBooks

 

Full-Text Reference Books

Need more background information about Criminal Justice Ethics but don't have time to go to the library? UMass Lowell Libraries gives you access to these full-text electronic reference books through Literati. Click here for a short tutorial about what else is available through Literati.

Cover Art
World of Criminal Justice, Gale - Shirelle Phelps
The individual entries in this ready-reference source explain in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice. Brief biographical profiles of the people who have made a significant and lasting impact on the field of criminal justice and society in general are included. Photographs, statistical charts, and graphs aid the reader in understanding the topics and people covered in the reference work.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Ethics
Coverage of ethical theory as pursued among English-speaking philosophers.

 

Find articles

Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

Police and Ethics

  • Law: Topic Page
    Rules of conduct of any organized society, however simple or small, that are enforced by threat of punishment if they are violated. MORE
  • Police: Topic Page
    The body of men and women employed by the government of a country to keep order, enforce the law, prevent crime, etc. MORE
  • Policing and Society
    From Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict This article examines policing as a formal social control institution in society. It explores the history of and development of policing and identifies some of the major phases in the policing movement. Attention is given to the role of policing as a traditionally reactive societal force; reference is also made for viewing police as a proactive element that not merely reacts to crime but actively seeks to reduce crime causing conditions. MORE
  • Police Shootings
    From Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and the Law
    Technically speaking, police shootings may refer to the justifiable homicide of felons by police or the murder of police officers by felons. MORE
  • Police Brutality
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale The term, police brutality, refers to all acts of unjustified cruelty inflicted by police on others. It may include the use of abusive language and physical violence which exceeds a justifiable response to a present threat. Police officers use verbal and physical force in their efforts to contain potentially explosive situations, maintain civic order, and apprehend individuals who are breaking the law. MORE
  • Corruption (Police)
    From Dictionary of Policing Police corruption generally refers to officers who do something against their duty, or who do not do something, in return for some gain or promise, though it may also refer more broadly to police abuse of power. MORE
  • Police Ethics
    From Encyclopedia of Ethics Lawbreakers (and sometimes the innocent) are apprehended, tried, and incarcerated. The corresponding social INSTITUTIONS—police, courts, and corrections constitute the domain of criminal justice. MORE
  • Force (Police Use Of)
    From Dictionary of Policing Force is the exercise of physical coercion by the police in the performance of their duties. MORE
  • Human rights: Topic Page
    Rights (as freedom from unlawful imprisonment, torture, and execution) regarded as belonging fundamentally to all persons. MORE

Find Background infor

Criminal Justice Personnel that Encounter Ethical Issues

  • Police and Police Departments
    From Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs The development of modern police forces in American cities exemplifies the enhancement and growing complexity of municipal authority. At the same time, it reveals a shift in the basis of community order from a general consensus on moral and religious rules to reliance on a criminal justice system—of which the police force is only a part—to control an environment viewed by many urbanites as inherently deviant and contentious. MORE
  • Attorney: Topic Page
    Agent put in place of another to manage particular affairs of the principal. An attorney in fact is an agent who conducts business under authority that is controlled and limited by a written document called a letter, or power, of attorney granted by the principal. MORE
  • Parole Officer
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale Many states have provisions in their criminal justice system for the early conditional release of inmates from correctional institutions. Once released, parole officers (PO) supervise those individuals in the community. MORE
  • Juvenile Justice System
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale
    The U.S. juvenile justice system is a distinct and separate system for dealing with young individuals who have committed criminal offenses. MORE
  • Case Management
    From Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management
    Originating in social work and healthcare and introduced subsequently into probation, case management is a method of combining a range of interventions into a process experienced as coherent by the offender. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip