Guide to UML and internet sources to on the history & current status of ethnic groups in the U.S.
Even if you think you know something about a topic, it's always a good idea to get some background info or an overview.
- Sage Knowledge
Encyclopedias are one of a few sources that give you an overiew of a topic. You can learn enough to choose a specific aspect of a broad topic. You can also pick up key terms as well as author names to search in our catalog and article databases.
- CQ Researcher
contains hundreds of research reports on topics of social policy. Each report includes a chronology, charts, graphs, bibliography, & other overview materials. Browse reports or search by keyword.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- Cambridge Handbook of Acculturation Psychology
Provides a comprehensive overview of key theories, concepts and methods, and highlights the unique experience of varied groups coming into cultural contact across a wide range of circumstances
- Encyclopedia of African American Society
With particular focus on social issues, the more than 700 alphabetically arranged articles here seek to provide readers with background information on the history & place of African Americans in this country's cultural & economic matrix. Entries encompass subjects as the origins of slavery or the course of the Civil Rights movement down to discussions of the "Cakewalk,"& hip-hop's "Zulu Nation.".
- Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the U.S.
Draws together the diverse historical & contemporary experiences in the US of Latinos & Latinas. 900 articles address topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures
A source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Essays on specific culture groups in the U. S., emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, languages and providing information on historical background and settlement patterns. Also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldean, Amish, etc.
- Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
A guide to the history, culture, and distinctive characteristics of the more than 100 ethnic groups who live in the United States.