This is the "Info" page of the "Evolution in Context for Teachers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Evolution in Context for Teachers  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/content.php?pid=387192 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Full-Text Reference Books from Literati

Need more background information about Evolution in Context for Teachers but don't have time to go to the library? UMass Lowell Libraries gives you access to these full-text electronic reference books through Literati. Click here for a short tutorial about what else is available through Literati.

Cover Art
Human Evolution: A Guide to the Debates
A fascinating and wide-ranging look at the controversies surrounding the search for the origins of the human species.

Cover Art
Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution (CDHBE) is an invaluable research and study tool for both professionals and students covering a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology, and zoology.

Cover Art
Keywords and Concepts in Evolutionary Developmental Biology
The first comprehensive reference work for this expanding field. Covering more than fifty central terms and concepts in entries written by leading experts, Keywords offers an overview of all that is embraced by this new subdiscipline of biology, providing the core insights and ideas that show how embryonic development relates to life-history evolution, adaptation, and responses to and integration with environmental factors.

Cover Art
Key Concepts in Education
Provides students with essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

 

Want to Further Explore Your Topic? Create a Mind Map!

 

Looking for eBooks about Evolution in Context for Teachers? Search here!

 

Looking for articles about Evolution in Context for Teachers? Search here!

Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

Key Terms and Topics

  • Evolution: Topic Page
    Slow gradual process of change from one form to another, as in the evolution of the universe from its formation to its present state, or in the evolution of life on Earth. In biology, it is the process by which life has developed by stages from single-celled organisms into the multiplicity of animal and plant life, extinct and existing, that inhabits the Earth. MORE
  • Adaptation: Topic Page
    The adjustment of living matter to environmental conditions and to other living things either in an organism's lifetime (physiological adaptation) or in a population over many many generations (evolutionary adaptation). MORE
  • Pandemic
    From The Dictionary of Human Geography A term (derived from the Greek pan-, all + demos, people), used in the health sciences to describe the occurrence of a specified illness, health behaviour or other health-related event that is unusually prevalent (epidemic) over an extensive geographical area. MORE
  • Carbon Footprint: Topic Page
    Measure of the amount of greenhouse gas (GHG) emission involved in human activity. It is expressed in terms of tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent produced in a unit of time. MORE
  • Endangered species: Topic Page
    Any plant or animal species whose ability to survive and reproduce has been jeopardized by human activities. MORE
  • Climate Change: Topic Page
    Climate change, as commonly used today, refers to long-term changes in global climate patterns as a result of anthropogenic (human-induced) interference. MORE
  • Conservation: Topic Page
    In the life sciences, action taken to protect and preserve the natural world, usually from pollution, overexploitation, and other harmful features of human activity. MORE
  • Environment: Topic Page
    In ecology, the sum of conditions affecting a particular organism, including physical surroundings, climate, and influences of other living organisms. Areas affected by environmental issues include the biosphere and habitat. MORE
  • Extinction: Topic Page
    In biology, the complete disappearance of a species from the planet. MORE
  • Population: Topic Page
    The inhabitants of a given area, but perhaps most importantly, the human inhabitants of the earth (numbering about 6.2 billion in 2002), who by their increasing numbers and corresponding increasing needs can seriously affect the global ecosystem. MORE
  • Darwinism: Topic Page
    Concept of evolution developed in the mid-19th cent. by Charles Robert Darwin. Darwin's meticulously documented observations led him to question the then current belief in special creation of each species. MORE
  • Evolution - Scientific and Religious Responses
    From Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century American scientists and clergymen were divided in their responses to The Origin of Species. Leading anti-Darwinians included Louis Agassiz, a Harvard geologist, and Charles Hodge of the Princeton Theological Seminary, who attacked Darwin's book in What Is Darwinism? (1874). The Catholic World pronounced Darwin's theory an “absurdity,” a view most Catholics echoed through the end of the century. MORE

Evolution and the Judicial System

  • Scopes Trial
    From The Crystal Reference Encyclopedia (1925) A trial of a high-school teacher, John Thomas Scopes, in Tennessee, who instructed his biology students in the evolutionary theory of creation in violation of a Tennessee state law mandating that only the literal account of the creation as told in the Book of Genesis should be taught. MORE
  • Epperson v. Arkansas
    From Great American Court Cases, Gale A young schoolteacher named Susan Epperson found herself caught in a dilemma at the beginning of the 1965 school year. Little did she know at that time that her dilemma would end up being solved by the justices of the U.S. Supreme Court in the landmark case Epperson v. Arkansas. Reminiscent of the famous Scopes monkey trial, Tennessee v. Scopes, of 1925, the significance of Epperson v. Arkansas is that our government cannot and should not favor any one religion over another. MORE
  • Behe, Michael J.
    From Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices
    In Kitzmiller et al. v. Dover Area School Board (2005), however, anti-evolutionists in Dover, Pennsylvania, argued that ideas such as irreducible complexity should be taught alongside evolution in the ninth-grade biology curriculum. Behe served as an expert witness in the trial, but during his testimony admitted that there are no peer-reviewed articles supporting his claims and that irreducible complexity does not rule out evolutionary mechanisms. MORE
  • Creationism and Intelligent Design
    From Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices One of the most polarizing conflicts in American culture is that between “creationism” and “evolution.” The former is the belief in the divine creation of living beings in their present forms; the latter is the scientific theory that species emerge through a complex process of genetic variation and natural selection. MORE
 

What's a Topic Page?


Topic Pages are a scholarly version of the articles that you find on Wikipedia. The difference is that Topic Pages only include information that's scholarly, citable and verified so you don't have to spend time determining if it is appropriate for use in your academic paper. Literati has nearly 10,000 topic pages so the odds are that you can find one that addresses your topic. Explore the topics on this LibGuide page or use this Literati search box to find others:


Evolution and Ecosystems

  • Great Barrier Reef: Topic Page
    Chain of coral reefs and islands about 2,000 km/1,250 mi long, in the Coral Sea, off the east coast of Queensland, Australia. MORE
  • Rainforest: Topic Page
    Dense forest usually found on or near the Equator where the climate is hot and wet. Moist air brought by the converging trade winds rises because of the heat and produces heavy rainfall. More than half the tropical rainforests are in Central and South America, primarily the lower Amazon and the coasts of Ecuador and Columbia. MORE
  • Ecosystem: Topic Page
    In ecology, a unit consisting of living organisms and the environment that they live in. MORE
  • Biodiversity: Topic Page
    Measure of the variety of the Earth's animal, plant, and microbial species, of genetic differences within species, and of the ecosystems that support those species. MORE
  • Old-growth/ancient forests, conservation
    From The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management, Blackwell Science The term ‘old-growth’ describes forests that have developed over a long period of time without experiencing catastrophic disturbance. The age at which old-growth develops and the specific structural attributes that characterize old-growth vary with forest type, climate, site conditions and disturbance regime. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip