This is the "Getting Started" page of the "College Writing Success" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

College Writing Success   Tags: college_writing  

Library and University Resources to Help You.
Last Updated: Jan 22, 2015 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/content.php?pid=379476 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off Campus Access

From off campus

 

 






When you click on a database link for the first time, this dialog box appears.

  1. Type your student.uml.edu email address.
  2. Then your password for that email address.

for problems call: 978-934-help

Background Sources

Even if you think you know something about a topic, it's always a good idea to get some background info or an overview.

  • CQ Researcher
    contains hundreds of research reports on topics of social policy. Each report includes a chronology, charts, graphs, bibliography, & other overview materials. Browse reports or search by keyword.
  • Literature Resource Center (Gale)
    Find biographical and critical essays on major authors or literary themes. SEARCH by author name or title of the literary work.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
  • Science in Context
    Science in Context features authoritative information and detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
 

Search for Books & Articles

Better than Google. Your teacher won't make a face at these sources.

Quick hint: Put phrases in quotes. Use AND inbetween terms.

"toxic waste" and "environmental impact"

Discovery Search
 

Create Your Bibliography

Fill in the blanks to generate your citations.

 

Getting Help

Where to go for help:

Advising: Advising Center

Counseling: Counseling Services

Finding Information: Reference Desk @ each Library

                     email: librarian@uml.edu

                     Phone: 978-934-4554 O'Leary

                     Phone: 978-934-3213 Lydon

Getting on the UML Wireless: Get Connected

Tutoring: Drop in Tutoring

Using ISIS: Getting Started with ISIS

 

Quick Tips on Avoidning Plagiarism

 

Be able to identify books in your results

 

Be able to identify journal articles

Guides to Writing

  • Writer's Handbook
    Useful guide covering all aspects of the research and writing process.
  • Writing in College
    The guide is divided into 5 sections, including "Some crucial differences between high school & college writing," "Preparing to write and drafting the paper," & "Revising the introduction and conclusion." An important section here is: "But what if you get stuck? A good solution & terrible solution," which discusses, among other things, how to avoid plagiarism.
 

We want your opinion

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip