This is the "Home" page of the "English 101" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English 101  

Basic Library information and introduction to Databases
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2016 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/content.php?pid=254201 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Picking Your Topic

Pre-Search

Use these search tools to find background information and get a better feel for your topic.

  • Global Issues In Context
    Background information on environmental, social and political issues that are universal across the world.

Web Sites

Useful Library Databases

  • Academic OneFile
    Another good general database with abundance of full text.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Excellent general database with which to begin research.
  • CQ Researcher
    Congressional Quarterly
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts
    Use this database to locate information about police procedures, gambling or crime.
  • Ebrary eBooks
    Over 60,000 ebooks available at this site.
  • Political Science Complete
    Excellent database for getting background information on the government and politics of countries or groups, and researching the effects of government decisions on the people and countries.
  • PsycINFO 1887-Current
    Look at psychological topics in this database. Why do people to things? Includes some sociology and criminal justice as well.
  • Sage Encyclopedias
    Excellent group of social science encyclopedias, use to search for background information, as well as detailed explanations and definitions.
  • SocIndex  
      
    Focus on sociological topics. These could be how and why society functions as it does. Subjects include sociology, anthropology, some criminal justice and film studies.
 

Off campus Access

To use Library databases from Off-campus, you must first authenicate yourself, using your UML student email address and password.

1. Start on the Library home page, click on "Off Campus Users start Here" in the left-hand menu.

2. Enter your student email and password as requested.

3. Computer screen should return you to Library home page and URL displayed will contain "libproxy.uml.edu" in the address.

4. All Library databases will now work for you, as long as you can see the "libproxy" address in the URL.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip