List of Resources
The material listed here is a compilation of the most important sources for researching chemical information. All of these sources will be discussed and used in the course: Information Retrieval in Chemistry 84:260. These titles are the best, but not the only, sources for data or references on chemicals, organic chemistry and related material. ACS Style Guide: effective communication of scientific information. 3rd edition, ACS, Washington DC. 2006. REF QD 8.5 .A25 2006. On reserve at Lydon Library. ACS Guide to Graduate Research. ACS, Washington, DC. REF QD 21 .A4 1995 Available on the Web free: DGWeb. Aldrich Chemical Company. Aldrich Advancing Science. Aldrich, Milwaukee, WI. Latest edition. REF TP 202 .A54. Also on the WEB: Aldrich Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index. CASSI. 1907-1994. 3v. Chemical Abstracts Service, Columbus, OH. REF QD 1 .A52. Chemical Rubber Company. Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. CRC Press, Boca Raton, FL. 87th. REF QD 65 .C72. Older editions have call number REF QD 65 .H3 Electronic Subscription (current edition) : ChemNetBase. Dictionary of Organic Compounds.(DOC) 6th ed. 1996. 9v. Chapman and Hall, London. REF QD 246 .D5 1996. Electronic subscription: ChemNetBase. Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis. 8 vol. Wiley, New York. REF QD 77 .E53 1995. Electronic version: Handbook of Reagents for Organic Synthesis via Knovel. (5 volumes, this is link to vol 1) Fieser, Mary, Ed. Reagents for Organic Synthesis. 17v. Wiley, N.Y. 1960- , REF QD 262 .F5. Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds. (HODOC) 3rd ed. 1994. 7v. CRC Press, Cleveland, OH. REF QD 257.7 .H36 1994. Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. 4th ed. 1992-1998. 26v. Wiley-Interscience, N.Y. REF TP 9 .E685 1992. 5th ed in progress. v. 1-4. Electronic subscriptionto 5th edition: Kirk Othmer Lewis, Richard ed. Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials. 10th ed. 2000. 3v. Van Nostrand Reinhold, N.Y. REF T 55.3 .H3 L494. Electronic subscription, latest edition: Knovel. Merck Index. Merck Co, Rahway, NJ. 13th ed.. REF RS 51 .M4 2003. Electronic Subscription to latest edition or CD version loaded on computer in ACS study room, Olney Hall. Names, Synonyms, and Structures of Organic Compounds. 3v. 1995. CRC Press, Boca Raton, FL. REF QD 291.N36 1995. Organic Reactions. 47v. Wiley, N.Y. REF QD 251.O7. Organic Syntheses. 9 collective volumes; Index for vol. 1-8; Wiley, N.Y. REF QD 262 .O71. Now available FREE on the WEB--for best results, install ChemDraw on your computer. Organic Syntheses Reaction Guide. Wiley, N.Y. REF QD 262.O71 Patterson, Austin. Patterson's German-English Dictionary for Chemists. 4th ed. 1992. Wiley, N.Y. REF QD 5 .P3 1992. Rappoport, Zvi, ed. CRC Handbook of Tables for Organic Compound Identification. CRC, Cleveland, 1967. REF QD 291 .R28 1967. Vogel, Arthur I. Vogel's Textbook of Practical Organic Chemistry. 5th ed, 1989. Wiley, N.Y. REF QD 261.V63 1989. INDEX AND ABSTRACTING SERVICES Beilsteins Handbuch der Organischen Chemie. 4th ed. Hauptwerke & Erganzungswerke 1-4. REF QD 251 .B4. SciFinder Scholar is full web-based electronic access to Chemical Abstracts from 1907- and Medline, 1950-Available 24 hours a day, login using your own account that you can set up here: Scifinder Registration Engineering Index. 1920-1969 Shelved on 1st floor. It covers approximately 7000 titles. Also on the WEB: COMPENDEX WEB, 1970- Infotrac 1980- This contains several databases of interest. Expanded Academic Index is the index for 1500 academic journals, including full text for about 1100 of them. Others include: Health, General Business, and Magazines, plus several literary databases. Ebsco Databases 1990- This service offers a number of subject specialty databases and Academic Search Premier, which has full text access to over 4500 titles. ScienceDirect. 1995- This database covers approximately 1200 Elsevier Press journals, with full content. MEDLINE available on Ebsco. Also on the WEB at: PubMed and in SciFinder Scholar. Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Offers a large and comprehensive Biological Sciences Database, including both Biochemistry and Biotechnology. Knovel A large database of technical handbooks for engineers and scientists. Exceptional searching tools and graphing capabilities. Includes the entire International Critical Tables, and many other important engineering tools. RefWorks A citation management software tool, web-based and accessible anywhere for all UML students. Set up your own account. For off-campus access, use the group code: RWUMassL
We have four simultaneous users. Please remember to log completely out of SFS when you finish your searching.
Science Librarian |
Marion S. MuskiewiczOffice: Lydon Library 103
Phone: 978-934-3209
OR Main Reference Desk 978-934-3213
Fax: 978-934-3014
Send Email
Subjects:
biology, chemistry, physics, mathematics, earth sciences, RefWorks, E-journals
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait