Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Information Retrieval for Chemists: 84:260 

Course outline, information and materials for all undergraduate chemists.
Last update: Nov 23rd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/inforetrieval  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Scifinder Scholar             Print Page
  

SciFinder Scholar Links

 

 

SciFinder Web Login

 
   SciFinder Registration Everyone needs to register their own login id's here.  Secure passwords are required, please read the instruction page for details.

  • Demo of Web version of SciFinder 
  • List of Journals  Core Journals available in Chemical Abstracts, with Abbreviations
  • Sections of Chemical Abstracts Detailed list of the 80 sections of Chemical Abstracts.
  • Chemical Abstracts Standard Abbreviations List List of all rules for abbreviation in the Chemical Abstracts database.
  • SciFinder Scholar Help. Links under "SciFinder How To Guides" offer detailed step-by-step guidance.
  • SciFinder Scholar tutorial.  A new self-guided hands on tutorial for using SFS. 
    •   
       

      CA Year Spans

      Year Spans

       

      Please note: SFS has renumbered all abstracts in 1st-5th to unique numbers.  CA references in older volumes, and old sources such as Beilstein or early volumes of Organic Syntheses may not connect to the correct item when searched in SFS. 

       (1st); 1907-1916  --abstracts have page numbers only.  Renumbered.

      (2nd); 1917-1926 --abstracts have page numbers only. Renumbered

      (3rd)    1927-1936  1930--unique CA abstract number now available (column is numbered + fraction of page) . Renumbered.

      (4th); 1937-1946  Renumbered.

      (5th; 1947-1956  Renumbered.

      The first 5 cumulative index volumes were not numbered.  Only scattered notation on naming in these early volumes is available in the Registry file.

      6th; 1957-1961; 6 CI  Renumbered.

      7th; 1962-1966; 7 CI

      8th; 1967-1971 8 CI; Registry number system installed here.

      9th; 1972-1976; 9 CI; Major name changes for chemicals as of 1972.

      10th; 1977-1981; 10 CI

      11th; 1982-1986; 11 CI

      12th; 1987-1991; 12 CI

      13th; 1992-1996; 13 CI

      14th; 1997-2001; 14CI

      15th; 2002-2007; 15CI

       

      Science Librarian

      Profile ImageMarion S. Muskiewicz
      Contact Info:
      Office: Lydon Library 103
      Phone: 978-934-3209
      OR Main Reference Desk 978-934-3213
      Fax: 978-934-3014
      Send Email

      Subjects:
      biology, chemistry, physics, mathematics, earth sciences, RefWorks, E-journals

       
      Description

        Loading content... please wait