This is the "Home" page of the "Engineering Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Engineering Technology  

Information resources in Engineering Technology
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2016 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/content.php?pid=2162 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Books at UML

BOOKS AT UML

  • Library Catalog
    Use keyword option, if you don't know the LC Subject heading.

    Put phrases in quotes.

    e.g. "hydraulic drills".

    Put + before important terms e.g. +fabrication+vibration.

Getting a Book From Other Libraries

     

GETTING A BOOK FROM OTHER LIBRARIES 


   If there is a book you need but it's not available online or in our catalog, search and request it using either the Virtual Catalogs of the Boston Library Consortium or the Massachusetts State.
If the book is not in either Virtual Catalog, request it through Interlibrary loan.

  • MA Virtual Catalog
    Includes public libraries and public college libraries in Massachusetts.
  • Interlibrary Loan Request
    First time users must register. Otherwise login with the username and password you created then you first registered.

Electronic Books

Back to Index

ELECTRONIC BOOKS

  • EngNetBase
    Full-text access to over 700 handbooks and references from CRC press, provide all fields of engineering with access to essential formulas, updated codes, and late-breaking developments that are shaping the field.
  • Knovel
  • Ebsco E-Books
    Search within the full text of 3000 books.

    Enter phrases in quotes. e.g. "high school dropouts"

    Use the boolean and between terms.

    e.g. inclusion and "disabled children"
  • Nat. Academies Press
    Use the discovery search box using phrases in quotes with AND between terms.

    e.g. "bilingual education" and policy

    Results list the chapters where your terms are located.
  • HyperStat Textbook
    Online textbook of 15 chapters covering all major areas of statistics used in research.
  • Statistics Textbook
    Another online textbook cover all areas of statistics.

Indexes to Books

Back to Index  

INDEXES TO BOOKS


These indexes enable you to know what books exist. Search the UML Library Catalog. If we don't own the books, try the Virtual Catalogs and then Interlibrary loans.

  • Books in Print
    Use this index to find information (price, publisher, date, etc) on books that are available to purchase. Search by keyword, title or use the BIP subjects.
  • WorldCat
    Use this resource to find books available in libraries across the U.S. and Europe.

    Search by keyword, L.C. Subject Headings, title of book, author name, etc.

Journal Indexes and Articles

Back to Index

JOURNAL INDEXES AND ARTICLES

  • Compendex
    Contains over 9 million bibliographic records and abstracts plus references to over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications.

    Coverage: 1996 - current
  • ---------Compendex Demo
    ---------Demonstration using Compendex (Click on large white arrow)
  • Academic Search Premier
    Includes complete list of journals published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers
  • Science Direct
    Scientific, medical and technical information online from over 1,200 full-text, peer-reviewed journals along with hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.

    Coverage: 1995 - current
  • Wiley
    Covers approximately 400 engineering and science journals from 1996 to present.
  • Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
    • Includes Polymer Library and Engineered Materials Abstracts.

    Coverage: Approximately 1986-current (the oldest record was published in 1953; about 50% of the record
  • Journals@Ovid Nursing Collection 2: Lippincott Premier
    Medical database, useful for any medical or health aspects of engineering.

Getting a Journal Article from Other Libraries

Back to Index

GETTING A JOURNAL ARTICLE FROM OTHER LIBRARIES

 

     If there is a journal article UMass Lowell does not have a full text access to, you may obtain a copy from other libraries by using the Interlibrary Loan.

  • Interlibrary Loan Request
    First time users must register. Otherwise login with the username and password you created then you first registered.

Standards

Back to Index

STANDARDS

Dissertations

Back to Index

DISSERTATIONS 


Please note that all microfilm copies of UML dissertations are on the 2nd floor of Lydon Library. Paper copies of dissertations are also kept at Lydon Library in storage. Dissertations do not circulate. To view the paper copy of a dissertation, you must fill out a request form. The dissertation will be ready within 24 hours at the Lydon Access Services Desk.

All UML Dissertations from 1992 to the present are available online and free to download.

  • Dissertation Abstract
    Search using keywords connected by AND. e.g. mentoring and teachers.

    For UML dissertations (1986 to date) click the more search options tab. Type in lowell as the school.

    Click on more search options to also browse & search by subje
  • UML Dissertations (1986 to date)
    Search only UML Dissertations (1986 to date). Use key words connected by the boolean "and".

    Search by advisor using the person's last name e.g. ADV (gower).

    Click on more search options to browse & search by subject.
  • UML Dissertations (1949-1985)
    This is a database of all pre-1986 UML doctoral and masters dissertations.

Jobs

Websites

Back to Index

WEBSITES

 

Reference Sources

Encyclopedias:

  • Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. 4th ed 1992-1997. 24v & 1 supp. REF TP 9 .E685
  • Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry. 36v. REF TP 9 U57. "A" volumes 1-28 contain information on chemicals and processes. "B" volumes 1-8 contain basic knowledge for chemical engineers
  • Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design. vol 1-63 REF TP 9 .E66. Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering. 1985. 18v. REF TP 1087 .E46.  Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology. 2003. 3rd ed. REF TP 1110 .E53 v. 1-8 issued so far.
  • Encyclopedia of Bioprocess Technology.  5v. REF TP 248.3 .F57 1999. Now available online in Knovel.

  • Encyclopedia of Separation Technology. 2v. REF TP 156.S45 E53 1997.

Handbooks:

  • Polymeric Materials Encyclopedia. 1996. 12v. REF TP 1110.P65.
  • Handbook of Chemical Processing Equipment. REF TP 155.7 .C53 1999.
  • Handbook of Chemical Engineering Calculations.  3rd ed. REF TP 149 .H285 2004.
  • ASHRAE Handbooks:

    Refrigeration Systems and Applications. REF TH 7201.A8571 1998.

    Heating, Ventilating, and Air-Conditioning Systems and Equipment. REF TH 7015 .A74 2000.

    Fundamentals. REF TH 7201 .A857 2001.

    HVAC Engineering Handbook. REF TH 7215.P584 1991.

  • COST DATA

    Means Building Construction Cost Data. Means, 2001. REF TH 435.B84 2001.

    Means Electrical Cost Data 1998. Means, 1997. REF TK 435.M42 1998.

    Means Facilities Construction Cost Data. Means, 2000. REF TH 435.M425 2000.

    Means Heavy Construction Handbook: a Practical Guide to Estimating and Accounting Methods, Operations/Equipment Requirements,...REF TA 210 R56 1993.

    Means Labor Rates for the Construction Industry. Means, 1994. REF HD 4966.B92 U43 1994.

    Means Mechanical Estimating: Standards and Procedures. Means, 1987. REF TH6010 .M43 1987.

    Means Mechanical Cost Data. Means, 1998. REF TH 435 .M435 1998.

    Means Repair and Remodeling Cost Data 1998: Commercial/Residential. Means, 1997. REF TH 3411 .R6 1998.

    Means Square Foot Costs. REF TH 435.M44

    National Construction Estimator. REF TH 435 .N3 1994.

    Petroleum Engineering Handbook. Ref TN 870 .P493 1989.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Margaret Manion
Contact Info
University of Massachusetts Lowell
Lydon Library
rm 301
84 University Avenue
Lowell, MA 01854
Send Email
Subjects:
engineering
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip