This is the "Home" page of the "Environmental Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Environmental Engineering  

Information Resources
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2016 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/content.php?pid=1790 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Most Important Resources

   MOST IMPORTANT RESOURCES 

    

The most important resources are listed below. You can find other resources on the tab above.

  • Engineering Village (incl. Compendex)
    Major engineering index which cover all areas of engineering.
  • ASCE Journals
    American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Journals provides full text to 30 journals plus an online journal archive that contains over 23,000 articles.

    Coverage: 1990 - currrent
  • Academic Search Premier
  • Refworks
    Big help making a bibliography. For more information, click on the tab above.
  • MA Virtual Catalog
    Includes public libraries and public college libraries in Massachusetts.
  • Interlibrary Loan Request
    First time users must register. Otherwise login with the username and password you created then you first registered.
  • EngNetBase
    Full-text access to over 700 handbooks and references from CRC press, provide all fields of engineering with access to essential formulas, updated codes, and late-breaking developments that are shaping the field.
  • Knovel
    Contains many important reference books in engineering.
    Allow you to make custom table and graphs.
  • Scifinder Scholar Web Link
    Login here to use SciFinder Scholar.
  • SciFinder Scholar Registration
 

Overview

Journal Indexes and Articles

Getting a Journal Article from Other Libraries, Journal Indexes and Articles

Books

Books at UML, Electronic Books, Getting a Book from Other Libraries, Indexes to Books

Patents

Websites

Creating Your Bibliography Using RefWorks

Backing Up Your RefWorks Data, Creating Bibliographies, What Is RefWorks?, Accessing RefWorks, RefWorks Folders, ...From A Database, ...From The UML Catalog, ...From A Publisher's Website, RefGrab-It for Web Page References, Entering References Manually, Write-N-Site to Generate Inline References and Bibliographies,

360 Search

Standards

Government Regulations

Organizations

Jobs

Safety

Reference Sources

Journal Indexes and Articles

 

JOURNAL INDEXES AND ARTICLES

Getting a Journal Article from Other Libraries

Back to Index

GETTING A JOURNAL ARTICLE FROM OTHER LIBRARIES

     If there is a journal article UMass Lowell does not have a full text access to, you may obtain a copy from other libraries by using the Interlibrary Loan.

  • Interlibrary Loan Request
    First time users must register. Otherwise login with the username and password you created then you first registered.

Electronic Books

Back to Index  

 ELECTRONIC BOOKS

  • EngNetBase
    Full-text access to over 700 handbooks and references from CRC press, provide all fields of engineering with access to essential formulas, updated codes, and late-breaking developments that are shaping the field.
  • Knovel
  • Ebsco E-Books
    Search within the full text of 3000 books.

    Enter phrases in quotes. e.g. "high school dropouts"

    Use the boolean and between terms.

    e.g. inclusion and "disabled children"
  • Nat. Academies Press
    Use the discovery search box using phrases in quotes with AND between terms.

    e.g. "bilingual education" and policy

    Results list the chapters where your terms are located.
  • Statistics Textbook
    Another online textbook cover all areas of statistics.

Books at UML

BOOKS AT UML

  • Library Catalog
    Use keyword option, if you don't know the LC Subject heading.

    Put phrases in quotes.

    e.g. "drinking water".

    Put + before important terms e.g. +bioremediation +contaminant.

Getting a Book from Other Libraries

    
GETTING A BOOK FROM OTHER LIBRARIES   

    

If you need a book that is not available at UMass Lowell, request it using one of the virtual catalogs.
If the book is not in either Virtual Catalog, request it through Interlibrary loan.

  • MA Virtual Catalog
    Includes public libraries and public college libraries in Massachusetts.
  • Interlibrary Loan Request
    First time users must register. Otherwise login with the username and password you created then you first registered.

Indexes to Books

Back to Index

 INDEXES TO BOOKS

These indexes let you know what books exist. Search the UML Library Catalog. If we don't own the books, try the Virtual Catalogs and then Interlibrary loans.

  • Books in Print
    Use this index to find information (price, publisher, date, etc) on books that are available to purchase. Search by keyword, title or use the BIP subjects.
  • WorldCat
    Use this resource to find books available in libraries across the U.S. and Europe.

    Search by keyword, L.C. Subject Headings, title of book, author name, etc.

Government Regulations

Back to Index  

GOVERNMENT REGULATIONS

  • Federal Register (GPO Access)
    The Federal Register contains proposed rules and final rules, which will be incorporated in the Code of Federal Regulations. Each issue is arranged roughly by executive body, as the table of contents for each issue on GPO Access shows. A citation consists
  • Code of Federal Regulations (GPO Access)
    The CFR contains regulations that have been printed as final rules in the Federal Register. It is published annually, and rules printed in the Federal Register do not appear immediately in either the online or print versions of the CFR. Searching the CFR

Safety

Back to Index  

SAFETY

Standards

Back to Index  

STANDARDS

Organizations

Back to Index  

ORGANIZATIONS

      

    Jobs

    Websites

    Back to Index  

    WEBSITES

    360 Search

    Search multiple databases, including e-books and journal articles.
     

    Reference Sources

    Encyclopedias:

    • Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. 4th ed 1992-1997. 24v & 1 supp. REF TP 9 .E685
    • Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry. 36v. REF TP 9 U57. "A" volumes 1-28 contain information on chemicals and processes. "B" volumes 1-8 contain basic knowledge for chemical engineers
    • Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design. vol 1-63 REF TP 9 .E66. Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering. 1985. 18v. REF TP 1087 .E46.  Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology. 2003. 3rd ed. REF TP 1110 .E53 v. 1-8 issued so far.
    • Encyclopedia of Bioprocess Technology.  5v. REF TP 248.3 .F57 1999. Now available online in Knovel.

    • Encyclopedia of Separation Technology. 2v. REF TP 156.S45 E53 1997.

    Handbooks:

    • Polymeric Materials Encyclopedia. 1996. 12v. REF TP 1110.P65.
    • Handbook of Chemical Processing Equipment. REF TP 155.7 .C53 1999.
    • Handbook of Chemical Engineering Calculations.  3rd ed. REF TP 149 .H285 2004.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Margaret Manion
    Contact Info
    University of Massachusetts Lowell
    Lydon Library
    rm 301
    84 University Avenue
    Lowell, MA 01854
    Send Email
    Subjects:
    engineering
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip