Library databases are also accessible to you off campus. When off campus, connect to the Library home page and click on "Off-Campus Users Start Here". Use your UML email username and email password to connect. You will then be able to use all databases. Your UML email username is your email address and your default password is your UML ISIS number. If you have problems logging on from off campus , contact the HELP desk (978-934-HELP ) or send email to firstname.lastname@example.org The library cannot reset UML passwords.
The most important resources are listed below. If you are off-campus, you will need to sign in at the off-campus user in order to use most of them. Additional resources are listed under the tabs above.
JOURNAL INDEXES AND ARTICLES
- ---------Compendex Demo
---------Demonstration using Compendex (Click on large white arrow)
- ------How To Use the UML E-Journal List
------Three minute demo on how to find out if UML has access to an electronic journal and get the full text.
- ------Putting References into RefWorks from Acad. Search Prem.
------Four minute demo putting references from Academic Search Premier into RefWorks.
- Academic Search Premier
- ACS Journals
Full-text access to 35 prestigious journals published by the American Chemical Society in addition to its weekly newsmagazine.
Coverage: 1879 - currrent
- American Nuclear Society
Contains over 9 million bibliographic records and abstracts plus references to over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications.
Coverage: 1996 - current
- UML E-Journal List
Listing of all ejournals available at UML with links to the full text.
- Engineered Materials Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Coverage: Approximately 1986-current (the oldest record was published in 1953; about 50% of the record
- Journals@Ovid Nursing Collection 2: Lippincott Premier
Medical database, useful for any medical or health aspects of engineering.
- Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)
Full-text archive of publications of the American Physical Society, including Physical Review, Physical Review Letters, and Reviews of Modern Physics.
Coverage: varies by journal, oldest dated from 1916
- Science Direct
Scientific, medical and technical information online from over 1,200 full-text, peer-reviewed journals along with hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
Coverage: 1995 - current
Covers approximately 400 engineering and science journals from 1996 to present.
GETTING A BOOK FROM OTHER LIBRARIES
If you need a book that is not available at UMass Lowell, request it using one of the virtual catalogs.
If the book is not in either Virtual Catalog, request it through Interlibrary loan.
Back to Index
Full-text access to over 700 handbooks and references from CRC press, provide all fields of engineering with access to essential formulas, updated codes, and late-breaking developments that are shaping the field.
- Ebsco E-Books
Search within the full text of 3000 books.
Enter phrases in quotes. e.g. "high school dropouts"
Use the boolean and between terms.
e.g. inclusion and "disabled children"
- Nat. Academies Press
Use the discovery search box using phrases in quotes with AND between terms.
e.g. "bilingual education" and policy
Results list the chapters where your terms are located.
- Statistics Textbook
Another online textbook cover all areas of statistics.
Back to Index
INDEXES TO BOOKS
These indexes enable you to know what books exist. Search the UML Library Catalog. If we don't own the books, try the Virtual Catalogs and then Interlibrary loans.
- Books in Print
Use this index to find information (price, publisher, date, etc) on books that are available to purchase. Search by keyword, title or use the BIP subjects.
Use this resource to find books available in libraries across the U.S. and Europe.
Search by keyword, L.C. Subject Headings, title of book, author name, etc.
Back to Index
GETTING A JOURNAL ARTICLE FROM OTHER LIBRARIES
If there is a journal article UMass Lowell does not have a full text access to, you may obtain a copy from other libraries by using the Interlibrary Loan.
Back to Index
- Federal Register (GPO Access)
The Federal Register contains proposed rules and final rules, which will be incorporated in the Code of Federal Regulations. Each issue is arranged roughly by executive body, as the table of contents for each issue on GPO Access shows. A citation consists
- Code of Federal Regulations (GPO Access)
The CFR contains regulations that have been printed as final rules in the Federal Register. It is published annually, and rules printed in the Federal Register do not appear immediately in either the online or print versions of the CFR. Searching the CFR
- Nuclear Regulatory Regulations
Taken from the Code of Federal Regulations Title 10
- Nuclear Regulatory Legislation
Nuclear Regulatory Information for the 109th Congress
Search multiple databases, including e-books and journal articles.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. 4th ed 1992-1997. 24v & 1 supp. REF TP 9 .E685
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry. 36v. REF TP 9 U57. "A" volumes 1-28 contain information on chemicals and processes. "B" volumes 1-8 contain basic knowledge for chemical engineers
Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design. vol 1-63 REF TP 9 .E66. Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering. 1985. 18v. REF TP 1087 .E46. Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology. 2003. 3rd ed. REF TP 1110 .E53 v. 1-8 issued so far.
Encyclopedia of Bioprocess Technology. 5v. REF TP 248.3 .F57 1999. Now available online in Knovel.
Encyclopedia of Separation Technology. 2v. REF TP 156.S45 E53 1997.
- Polymeric Materials Encyclopedia. 1996. 12v. REF TP 1110.P65.
- Handbook of Chemical Processing Equipment. REF TP 155.7 .C53 1999.
- Handbook of Chemical Engineering Calculations. 3rd ed. REF TP 149 .H285 2004.
Refrigeration Systems and Applications. REF TH 7201.A8571 1998.
Heating, Ventilating, and Air-Conditioning Systems and Equipment. REF TH 7015 .A74 2000.
Fundamentals. REF TH 7201 .A857 2001.
HVAC Engineering Handbook. REF TH 7215.P584 1991.
Means Building Construction Cost Data. Means, 2001. REF TH 435.B84 2001.
Means Electrical Cost Data 1998. Means, 1997. REF TK 435.M42 1998.
Means Facilities Construction Cost Data. Means, 2000. REF TH 435.M425 2000.
Means Heavy Construction Handbook: a Practical Guide to Estimating and Accounting Methods, Operations/Equipment Requirements,...REF TA 210 R56 1993.
Means Labor Rates for the Construction Industry. Means, 1994. REF HD 4966.B92 U43 1994.
Means Mechanical Estimating: Standards and Procedures. Means, 1987. REF TH6010 .M43 1987.
Means Mechanical Cost Data. Means, 1998. REF TH 435 .M435 1998.
Means Repair and Remodeling Cost Data 1998: Commercial/Residential. Means, 1997. REF TH 3411 .R6 1998.
Means Square Foot Costs. REF TH 435.M44
National Construction Estimator. REF TH 435 .N3 1994.
Petroleum Engineering Handbook. Ref TN 870 .P493 1989.