This is the "Home" page of the "Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology   Tags: biological, biology;, biology;, experimental, science;  

List of resources in Biological Sciences for Undergraduate Biology Majors.
Last Updated: Aug 13, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/experbio Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

How to find Biology Information

  • Powerpoint
    How to use the most important biology information sources

Basic information

The UMASS Lowell Libraries provide many important databases that you need to know about to do proper research for your biology term papers.  These databases are available only to the UML campus and cost the Library over 2 million dollars per year.  Databases allow you to quickly and easily do searches on your topics, find full text journal articles and print or save them off for your own use, all in a matter of minutes.  All computers on campus offer access to all Library databases.  All Library computer labs offer Office2010 versions of Word, Excel, and Powerpoint.  The University does charge for printing ($0.10 per page) but also provides you with a printing allowance, on your ID. You will use your UML student ID  for your printing, and you may order and/or pick up print jobs at any print station on campus. You may bring a jump/thumb drive or CD to save your work, or you may email it to yourself if you prefer.

Connecting from Home

Library databases are also accessible to you from home, labs,  or dorm.  In the dorms or labs, connect to the Library Home Page and all databases are accessible.  From home,  connect to the Library home page and click on "Off-Campus Users Start Here".  Use your UML email username and password to connect. You are instantly verified and may use all databases.   If you have problems logging on from home--your email address is not recognized or locked, contact the HELP desk at IT (978-934-HELP [4357]) or send email to help@uml.edu  

Biology Databases

  • Biological Sciences
    Best database for biological information. Includes "Deep indexing" providing graphs, charts and diagrams from articles. Full text available.
  • Annual Reviews
    Review articles from the Annual Reviews site, 1996- Covers all areas of science.
  • ScienceDirect
    Full text of about 2000 Elsevier journals from 1995-. The site also offers automatic "alerts". Some journals in SD are not accessible under our subscription.
  • American Society of Microbiology journals
    Full-text of 11 microbiology journals.
  • Ovid
    Full text biomedical and nursing journals.
  • PubMedCentral
    All articles based on NIH or NSF grants must be published on this site, which is free to all.
  • Entrez
    Gateway to free government websites on genetics, genes and gene sequences, DNA, proteins
  • Public Library of Science
    Searches and links to large number of articles in Biology and medicine. All articles are Open Access.
  • Public Library of Science--Biology
    Direct link to Biology topics in PLoS.
  • PubMed
    Free government database for all things medical.
 

RefWorks

RefWorks is a service provided to all members of the UML community under a UML site license. RefWorks manages your citations and allows you to create bibliographies with a few mouse clicks.  Every person may create their own RefWorks account.  You may download citations of interest from UML databases, from Google Scholar, or from web sites and store this information in your RefWorks account. You may also use RefWorks to store the actual articles.  Each student is allowed 1 G of space.  Your RefWorks account is yours permanently, even after you finish your schooling. 

Go to
RefWorks and register.  Choose your own username and password.  To use RefWorks off campus, put in our group code RWUMASSL when prompted; you will then be allowed to sign in to your account.  Check out the RefWorks tutorials, they are brief and informative and can get you started quickly.

For detailed instructions on using RefWorks, consult this
guide.

msm Updated 9/14/2010

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Margaret Manion
Contact Info
University of Massachusetts Lowell
Lydon Library
rm 301
84 University Avenue
Lowell, MA 01854
Send Email
Subjects:
engineering

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mary Martynuk
Contact Info
University of Massachusetts Lowell, MA
Lydon Library
978-934-3213
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip