- African American Society
Details the ways in which the tenets and foundations of African American culture have given rise to today’s society.cover topics such as rap music, sports, television, cinema, racism, religion, literature, among others.
- Children & Childhood in History & Society
Cover topics in history, social sciences, literature, medicine, & law e.g. Bicycles/tricycles; Cassatt, Mary; Charter schools; Child pornography; Halloween; Infant rulers; Islam; Lindbergh kidnapping; Montessori, Maria; Multiple births;Orphanages;Play.
- Children, Adolescents and Media
This encyclopedia pulls together research on topics related to young people's daily media experience e.g. cigarette use in television & movies; gender roles in music; Internet use, Manga (Japanese comic books);viral marketing, public policy, etc.
Enables you to explore the complex and interdisciplinary concept of community as well as the different types of communities that exist.
Encyclopedia discussing the history, changing problems, and social impacts of homelessness. Causes of homelessness, historical aspects, housing, policy, health and lifestyle issues, and service systems are among the broad topics covered. Examples of entry headings include Abeyance theory, Child care, Gentrification, HIV and AIDS, Images of homelessness in contemporary documentary film, Low-income housing, Marginality, Panhandling, Safe havens, and Salvation Army.
- Mass Violence
An Encyclopedia Project that's a regularly updated electronic database of massacres & genocides of the 20th century. Includes chronologies, case studies, & scholarly reviews of works related to each region or country's genocides or massacres.
- Multicultural America
Contains essays on specific cultural & ethnoreligious groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns.
- Popular Culture
Encyclopedia articles address social life, print culture, film, television and radio, sports, art & performance relate to the 19th century, but treatment is purposely slanted toward the latter half of the 20th century.
- Social History of the U.S. (1900-1990)
Each decade is covered in a separate volume. This work draws on the most compelling scholarship to identify important themes and institutions, explore daily life and working conditions across the economic spectrum, and examine all aspects of the American experience from a citizen's-eye view.
- Social Welfare History in North America
Reference work that provides readers with information about the history of social welfare in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico, and how these three nations have dealt with social welfare issues, some shared and some unique, and "to describe important events, developments, and the lives and work of some key contributors."
- War and American Society
Probes the connections between wartime expeditions and the experiences of the larger American society. e.g. Antiwar movements, Baby boom, National system of interstate and defense highways, Apocalypse Now movie, tables of data, surveys, and opinion polls.
- World Poverty
Cover a wide spectrum of topics, e.g. secular & religious antipoverty & relief organizations; special problems of women & children; causes, economics, history, politics, policy, measurements & each country's definitions of poverty, & statistics.