Art resources at UML and on the web.
- Library Catalog
Sign in to borrow books not owned at UML.
Put Phrases in quotes.
e.g. "school choice" "law and legislation"
- ebrary Library
Click on the Bookshelf tab and sign in. Search ebrary's 100,000 online books and save the ones you want in your bookshelf. Put phrases in quotes. SAMPLE: "brain injury" and rehabilitation
- Ebsco eBook Collection
Search within the full text of 3000 books.
Enter phrases in quotes. e.g. "color techniques"
Use the boolean AND between terms.
- Digital Public Library of America
- Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal™ is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields. The Portal is free to all users.
- Guggenheim Archive
A collection of over 100 titles of art books and catalog of art exhibits.
- Google Books
Provides excepts from thousands of copyrighted books and full text of books in the public domain. Use quotes for multiword phrases.
e.g. "Leonardo da Vinci" "mona lisa"
- Safari Technical Books
Good source for books on desktop publishing, graphic software as well as website development.
- Web Style Guide
See also the Dictionaries tab for reference works
SAMPLE SEARCH: "leonardo da vinci" and "mona lisa" and painting
- Digital Research Tools Directory
The DiRT Directory makes it easy for digital humanists and others conducting digital research to find and compare resources ranging from content management systems to image processing, to statistical image analysis, to mindmapping software.
This portal showcases current digital humanities research projects, including several in music. Try out demos and get ideas. dh+lib "aims to provide a communal space where librarians, archivists, LIS graduate students, and information specialists of all stripes can contribute to a conversation about digital humanities and libraries."
See a sample Google Search
Use advanced search strategies in Google Search
Questions to think about:
1. What is the authority behind the information?
2. What is the purpose of the information?
3. How biased or neutral is the information?
4. Can the information be verified from other sources?