Full-text access to articles from the New York Times database from 1985-Present. Users can download articles as an HTML web page, highlight words to view definition terms, and export citations into tools such as RefWorks (avaialable for free use to all UML users). This database is provided to libraries throughout the Commonwealth by the Mass Board of Library Commissioners.
The database covers The New York Times from its first issue in 1851 through 2012. Coverage includes not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
A searchable ASCII text underlies each article and page image. Users can search by keyword and Boolean operators as well as employ more advanced searching techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed bibliographic information for the articles retrieved such as article title, publication, issue date, author, page, etc.
PressReaders' Library Press Display provides full-text access to worldwide newspapers in their original page layout. Current issues of over 4,000 titles are available from 100 countries in 60 different languages. Up to 90 days worth of back issues are included. Newspapers are provided in their original languages, but the site does provide translation for supported title into any of several major languages. The translation provides a general interpretation of the article's content and is not an exact reproduction.
Academic OneFile contains over 60 million records from the following types of sources: Periodicals — General interest magazines; refereed academic journals; business publications; technology periodicals; plus specialty titles in law, health care and computers. Newspapers — The full text of The New York Times from 1990, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times and Christian Science Monitor. Newswires — 121 wire services covering agriculture, general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry topics, sports and current events from all over the world. Audio — listen to any National Public Radio program, as well as read transcripts, for shows produced by NPR from 1990 to present. Podcasts from government agencies such as the Census and the State Department are also available.
The Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database containing over 344,000 citations and abstracts of articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left publications. The API was launched in 1969. Coverage begins in 1991.
Access to full-text coverage of the Boston Globe through detailed indexing that covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. In addition, items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are also made easily accessible through the searchable index.
The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online Curriculum vitæ management, salary databases, and more.
CQ Researcher, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc., contains single-themed, 12,000-word reports researched and written by seasoned journalists. Each report provides an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Reports are browsable by topic or date or searchable by keyword.
The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.
The Irish Newspaper Archive is the largest on-line database of Irish Newspapers in the world. It contains complete archives of the Irish Independent (1905-Current), The Freeman's Journal (1763-1924), the Nation (1842-1897) and many more leading national, regional and out-of date titles. To date the INA has digitized 15 newspaper titles with over 25 more titles scheduled for digitization this year alone. The vast majority of titles run from their inception to current and will be updated on a monthly basis. All titles are rendered fully word searchable and date indexed. Besides newspapers, the INA is in the process of digitizing other documents of historical interest such as directories and the vast Lawrence photographic collection, consisting of over 50,000 prints from early Victorian Ireland.
The Listener Historical Archive is a complete online facsimile edition of every issue of the weekly BBC magazine. Established in 1929, it was developed as a medium of record for the reproduction in print of broadcast talks originally aired on the BBC, initially on radio and later on television. Major contributors included E. M. Forster, George Orwell and Bertrand Russell, while it also served as an important platform for new writers and poets such as W. H. Auden, Sylvia Plath and Philip Larkin among others. This archive preserves and allows full access to what in many cases is the only record of early broadcasts. The Listener finally ceased publication in 1991, just on the dawn of the internet age.
The New York Times , access to the current day's edition of the paper. For past articles from 1985 to the present use the Gale InfoTrac New York Times database, or even older articles beginning in 1851 are available in full text from the ProQuest Historical New York Times link below.
Regional Business News provides extensive coverage for full-text regional business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canadian provinces. Covers 119 regional business publications, current news from over 1,300 full-text newspapers, including the Associated Press, UPI and The Washington Post with nearly 1.4 million full-text articles from newspaper columns and TV and radio news transcripts. Updates multiple times a day.
The Wall St. Journal's comprehensive, high-quality indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas, so researchers can easily access not only top news stories but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed. For each article cited in the database, an abstract of up to 75 words helps the researcher know if the complete text will meet his or her needs.