MEDLINE, created by the National Library of Medicine, contains over 4 million records covering a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. It uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Polymer Library (formerly Rapra Abstracts) is the world’s largest database dedicated to plastics, rubber, polymeric composites and adhesives. Subject coverage includes science, technology and polymers. The database, updated twice monthly, contains nearly a million records dating from 1972 to the present. Polymer Library content, provided by more than 500 publishers, originates from a wide range of sources such as technical and industry-focused journals, peer reviewed journals, conference proceedings, books and reports.
SciFinder is an electronic version of the complete Chemical Abstracts starting from 1907. It provides access to more than 8000 journal and patent references (from over 32 patent-issuing organizations), and includes more than 30 million substance records and CAS Registry Numbers. Users can search the chemical literature (journals and patents) in a variety of ways: author name, research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure or chemical reaction. The CAS databases are a comprehensive collection of published chemical literature. The complete Medline database from 1950 on is also searchable through SciFinder.
Dimensions is a linked research data platform, with a much wider and more open scope than PubMed, Scopus, or Web of Science. Dimensions is designed to provide better knowledge about what is going on in your research area, and how this is changing over time.
SciFinder Scholar consists of the complete Chemical Abstracts Service database from 1907- and the complete Medline database, from 1950-. Newest additions include millions of spectra, and records from chemical literature before 1907. UMASS Lowell Libraries provides SciFinder Web access for current students, faculty and staff in the Library, anywhere on campus and at home, provided they have properly registered for an account.
For help on searching SFS web, check out the tutorials provided by the Chemical Abstracts Service, or contact Margaret Manion,Science and Engineering Librarian.
SciFinder Scholar is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week except for Sunday mornings. Please remember to read the conditions statement when logging on and abide by the limits on the number of records. Because of heavy use, please remember to log out completely and properly from SFS, otherwise a port will be blocked for up to 20 minutes.